Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

WHAT THE WHAT??–Liz Lemon

liz-lemonHow did I just get off the phone with my PM, having scheduled my 30-day for next Tuesday? We are three weeks today from closing, and honestly, it’s flown by. We are still largely living out of boxes, which really only drives my husband crazy. My boys, being 15 and 12, would happily live out of a box for months on end. They hate putting anything away, so it’s easier for them to just have a “clean” box and a “dirty” box, and just hurl clothes from one to the other. My excuse for not putting anything away? I need furniture! When we’d thought about and planned out how we would put our furniture in the new house, either our current furniture seemed much bigger, or the new rooms seemed much smaller. We moved in, put our couch, love seat and chair and ottoman in our new family room, and realized we needed to hurl the remote control with all our strength to pass it. The furniture is dwarfed by the size of the room!  So on the shopping list is a new sectional from Lazy Boy, or however cutely they’re spelling it now. (La-Z-Boy? Ley-Zee-Boi? Ugh.)

But nothing is happening until our other house sells. We have spent every available moment in the evenings and weekends, cleaning and painting and freshening up the old house, and it went on the market today. If you have some quick-sell, good-price karma to send my way, I’d appreciate it. Once that sells, I am properly outfitting the family room and dining room (which is currently housing the flattened few boxes we have managed to unpack).

Overall, we are thrilled with the house, and all the space. Youngest child is still mourning our old house, and its established, flat backyard and fence. That was his domain. The new backyard is gently sloped, and there is no fence, so he feels a bit exposed playing lacrosse out there. We have gotten estimates for a fence and will do that. When the old house sells. (Sense a theme?) The one thing that we are trying to figure out is the DRATTED SOD! So, admittedly they put the sod in at the tail end of the rainiest spell anyone of us can remember, and then it morphed into an unusually hot spell. I know it’s not going to be perfectly lush and green, but we can’t figure out the sod and this stupid irrigation system. The water pools in certain places, and literally weeps out of the yard and over the curb. Are we watering too much? Is a pipe broken and leaking? Is it graded poorly, and just ends up there? How often should we run this damn thing? 10 minutes a zone, every day? 20 minutes, every other day? Some of the sod is brown–is that a fungus or is it dry and dead?

And most importantly–WHICH KID AM I GOING TO HAVE TO SELL TO PAY THIS MONTH’S WATER BILL?? If you have teenage boys, you already know you have to take out a second mortgage on your house to simply cover their showering and laundry water bills. I am terrified, quaking in my boots about this bill, what with some crazy lawn-moat system that we seem to have gotten. Any advice from other new sod people?

5 comments on “WHAT THE WHAT??–Liz Lemon

  1. J and M
    July 26, 2013

    no advice on the sod, but sending you good thoughts on selling your other home! I have 2 older brothers and remember how much my mom complained about the water bill (and that was almost 2 decades ago). Can’t imagine how bad the bills are now with 2 grown boys. Sending you good thougths on that bill too!

  2. SM
    July 26, 2013

    check with your water company. Ours offer a 1 time credit…

    New Lawn Credit

    This is a one-time-only $60. credit for seeding a new lawn at the time of initial build-out. It does not apply to lawn repairs resulting from additions to existing structures, garages, swimming pools, landscaping, lawn alterations, or restorations.

  3. Hoover
    July 27, 2013

    Do you have a companion metor hooked up the your irrigation? That helps with the cost big time!

    • newbietobuilding!
      July 27, 2013

      No, but we need to get one installed. Heard it’s pricy, though.

      • Hoover
        July 27, 2013

        It’s pricey up front but saves you so much money in the long run especially when it’s hot and the sprinklers have to run so much so that your grass doesn’t get burnt up

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2013 by in July 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

