Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Growing pains

Well, we’re in. The movers came on Tuesday, and did a spectacular job in this wretched Virginia heat and humidity. We went with a local company rather than a big national chain, and I’m so glad we did. Four nice, earnest young men moved all our crap, including a washer and dryer, a refrigerator and a piano, with a smile on their face and funny banter to kill the time. Love them. If you’re in the Central VA region, check out Moxie Movers in Richmond.

We are all tired and weary, with boxes everywhere, and nothing put away just yet. The cat is finally settling in,  but not happy that the dog isn’t here (she’s still in the kennel) and that the workmen who are in and out of the house seem to make a lot of noise just when he’s trying to sleep. He desperately wants to go outdoors, but hasn’t yet worked out which are the doors and which are the windows, so he just meows in the middle of the family room. Oldest child is happy as a clam, after being the one who was initially very opposed to the move. He’ s settled in, Xbox is up, and friends have been contacted. (We only moved about a mile down the road, same school district, and into a neighborhood teeming with kids we know.) Youngest child is still struggling. He was the most interested in the building process, and came with us happily to check out the progress. But as we were tucking him in on the last night in our “old” house, he was crying quietly, saying he didn’t want to leave the only house he’d ever known. Ouch. I have to admit, I almost volunteered to chuck it all right then and there, and stay where we have made all these happy memories. He seems to be getting his momentum in the new house, but I agree–it still doesn’t feel like home to us yet.

Don’t get me wrong, I love our new house. I love all the space and how we immediately spread out as if we’d always had this much room. The kids’ rooms are bigger and brighter, and they like having a little separation. They had rooms right next to each other and shared a wall. One is a night owl and one is a morning kid, and there were always grumblings about noise. I love, love, love the kitchen and all the cabinets, even if I haven’t figured out where everything should go yet. And our bedroom is ridiculously awesome. But it’s all so…different. Little things keep tripping me up. I go to flip on the light switch in the bathroom, and it’s on the opposite side to our old bathroom. The garbage disposal is on the left-hand side of the kitchen sink, and I am so used to it being on the right that I keep scooping food debris out of the wrong side. The dishwasher is on the opposite side of what I am used to, and I keep spilling water from the rinsed plates on the floor. My husband and I each have our own vanity and sink, and strangely, I miss sharing toothpaste with him. Weird? I guess I had focused so much on the building process, and the physical aspects of the house, that I hadn’t thought too much about the transition we would go through. We’d been in our old house for 14 years, brought our youngest home to that house, and raised our kids there. It’s just a wrench, I guess. I feel about this house the way I felt when I found out I was pregnant: thrilled and terrified and a little worried that I may have made a colossal mistake. But my pregnancies went on, and I warmed to the idea of being a mom (or a mom again), I was incredibly excited and happy. I know I will get there with the house, too; I just need some time to get my head around it, pay a few bill cycles to know how much everything will actually cost (the water bills alone terrify me–I watch that irrigation system running and all I see is dollar signs!), and see that we will be just fine.

Sorry to be so introspective! I think I’m just a little overwhelmed right now. Change, even good change, takes some time to get used to. 🙂 I will post the obligatory pictures of unpainted rooms with tons of piles of boxes soon. Thanks for your support, all. I appreciate it.

9 comments on “Growing pains

  1. S and P
    July 11, 2013

    Awww… This was such a good post! Everybody keeps writing about the move and transition but in a completely different way. The things you mentioned are so moving….I completely agree with you that even good changes take time. I hope you guys will settle in soon and I know you’ll be extremely happy!!! 🙂 All the very best!

  2. Melissa R
    July 11, 2013

    Beautiful post. I cried when you said you child was sad to move to the new home. Luckily for me I have moved alot in the past 16 years and even though I grew up in the same home until I was an adult I have been longing for that feeling of truly being home. I am hoping this new house fits the bill since we plan on staying in it for a long time. I am also glad to hear about the double sink story, my husband and I always laugh about people who have to have their own sink, I figure we get along so well since we don’t mind spitting toothpaste into the same bowl.

  3. Ella May
    July 11, 2013

    Thank you for sharing this fascinating insight with us. As I was reading I realized this is one of the most heartfelt words I have ever read on a building blog. Felt very much like one is with you as you leave the old to the new and try to make sense of the future. Absolutely insightful and mirrors much of the thoughts we have. Thank you.

  4. Angie
    July 11, 2013

    Nice post 🙂 Was the brick on the front of your house along the bottom an option/upgrade? If so do mind sharing what you paid? I didn’t see this on the options list on my community and I think it’s lovely. Thanks!

  5. Eric and Karrie
    July 11, 2013

    For someone who has moved very 1 1/2 years for their entire life (especially Military Life), those are all normal feelings and emotions. We go through it every time we move. There is always excitement for the adventure of something new, but sadness for what you are leaving behind. The culture shock passes quickly as you settle into your new routines and before you know it, you don’t’ remember what your previous life was like.

    Hopefully you and your family finds their stride soon. Take care.

  6. Stacey
    July 11, 2013

    Agreeing with others…such a great post. These are the things we don’t consider when wrapped up in ‘the process’. But totally normal adjustments. I know the new routine will be old hat in no time!!

  7. Nickie
    July 14, 2013

    Congratulations on your beautiful home. I am interested in the bonus room, but can’t find any pictures. Do you mind posting a couple of your bonus room? TY!

    • newbietobuilding!
      July 15, 2013

      Thanks! I will try to post some as soon as it is in some sort of shape to be photographed. Remind me if I forget in the next few days! I have some posted earlier, but they are before we closed and have no furniture in them. It’s a great room–the same size as the downstairs family room, and the same four windows.

  8. joybucket
    July 15, 2013

    I love this post. All change takes time. Looking forward to our big move is thrilling and frightening at the same time.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2013 by in July 2013 and tagged , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

