Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

So tired! And so happy, too.

I’m beat, just beat. And we haven’t even officially moved in yet! The movers come on Tuesday, so my exhaustion is entirely of our own making. We’ve been moving some things over to the house, namely the bar and counter stools, another chair, some rugs to protect the floors from the movers, and assorted odds and ends like trash cans and towels. We’ve been working hard on our (now) old house, getting it ready to put on the market as soon as we are out of here next week. I am going to give a big shout out for the Rustoleum Cabinet Transformation kit that you can get at Lowes. Basically, it’s a kit that allows you to make over your cabinets. We had a crappy oak veneer builder grade bathroom cabinet in our master bath, and our realtor kindly and gently suggested that we swap that out. Um, no. We’ve already gotten all new windows, new flooring, some new plumbing and landscaping. I draw the line somewhere, and it’s the $400 for a new vanity. We got a new granite countertop, and for $75, we tried this kit. HOLY COW! It’s time consuming, but our vanity looks brand new and fancy. We chose the Tudor color, which is like a deep coffee color. It was easy, but time consuming, and it turned out so well, I think we’re going to do the boys’ bathroom as well. Between the counters and the vanity, it’s like a whole new bathroom. I wish we’d done it earlier–I would have completely redone my kitchen, too. Just a suggestion for those of you getting ready to sell your old house to get into that lovely new Ryan one. Β (I’ll try to post before and after pics if we do the other bathroom.)

And our new house. Oh, it’s lovely. We spent today sealing all the blasted grout. All that gorgeous tile comes with a price, and it’s an aching back and lingering contact high from aerosol grout sealant. Leave yourself enough time to properly seal that stuff! We had originally gotten the kind you brush on, but our PM recommended the aerosol can. Wow, does that stuff give off fumes. Glad we didn’t have the kids or the pets in the house. Even with the fans going, it’s a bit overwhelming. You spray it on all grout, leave it for fifteen minutes, wipe off the excess, and then–an hour later–put on a second coat and repeat. I was worried that it would stain the paint if I oversprayed, but it didn’t seem to. We did use the brush on kind on the tile around the bath, but PM was right. The aerosol is much easier. It took three cans to do two bathrooms with tiled floors and showers, and one bathroom with a tiled shower.

Spending that much time on the floor, either sealing the grout or recovering from the woozy grout-sealant-inspired headache, I did notice more odds and ends that I would like fixed at the 30-day. Nothing too drastic, but some dings and paint and stain issues.

It’s time for some Coors Light and Aleve. Ah, moving!

Family room! Already wondering where to put the Christmas tree.

Family room! Already wondering where to put the Christmas tree.

The stairs. Definitely better than they were, but I still wish they were a bit darker.

The stairs. Definitely better than they were, but I still wish they were a bit darker.

Dining room

Dining room

Master bedroom!

Master bedroom!

My closet. Sigh.

My closet. Sigh.

The rest of my closet. :)

The rest of my closet. πŸ™‚

Master bathroom. The only complaint? Only two towel bars, and they were put in weird places. We'll have to put in more.

Master bathroom. The only complaint? Only two towel bars, and they were put in weird places. We’ll have to put in more.

The tub was finally clean enough to crawl in. It's deep  and wonderful! And I'm on the tall side, so plenty of room.

The tub was finally clean enough to crawl in. It’s deep and wonderful! And I’m on the tall side, so plenty of room.

Upstairs landing, looking from master bedroom.

Upstairs landing, looking from master bedroom.

The kitchen

The kitchen

Pantry. :)

Pantry. πŸ™‚

IMG_7409

One of the reason we picked this lot was all the bluebirds we saw in the wetlands out back. Since we've moved in, we've seen several in the trees, just watching us. I got these as a little tribute to those birds.

One of the reason we picked this lot was all the bluebirds we saw in the wetlands out back. Since we’ve moved in, we’ve seen several in the trees, just watching us. I got these as a little tribute to those birds.

The rug I got from rugsusa.com. Ignore the untrimmed rug pad. It reminds me of the rocks along the coast of Maine. I may be the only person who loves it, but I am crazy about it.

The rug I got from rugsusa.com. Ignore the untrimmed rug pad. It reminds me of the rocks along the coast of Maine. I may be the only person who loves it, but I am crazy about it.

Kid in a box

Kid in a box

Front porch set. Love it!

Front porch set. Love it!

IMG_7455

Fridge came today!

Fridge came today!

Ok, this is cool. All rooms with ceiling fan rough-ins come with 3 switches. One is for the outlet, one is for the fan and one is for the light in the fan!! No remote needed, no grabbing the wrong cord! I'm sorry, but I think that is the neatest feature.

Ok, this is cool. All rooms with ceiling fan rough-ins come with 3 switches. One is for the outlet, one is for the fan and one is for the light in the fan!! No remote needed, no grabbing the wrong cord! I’m sorry, but I think that is the neatest feature.

Pier 1 counter stools and pads.

Pier 1 counter stools and pads.

Grout sealant. Do not use around kids or pets. But it's pretty easy to use.

Grout sealant. Do not use around kids or pets. But it’s pretty easy to use.

11 comments on “So tired! And so happy, too.

  1. Melissa R
    July 6, 2013

    It looks beautiful. I like the stairs stain so much better than the first one. Nice tip on the grout sealer. We plan on doing tile and granite sealing the day we close. Hopefully we can open some windows so we don’t have a fume high from it.

    • newbietobuilding!
      July 6, 2013

      Our PM said the granite was already sealed, but we’ve noticed some water marks on the kitchen counters. We are going to seal again tomorrow, just in case. You might be ok with a mask, if you’ve got one. The sealant has to be on for 24 hours before you can use the shower, tub, etc. Just FYI!

  2. dakmlbevel
    July 7, 2013

    It’s the awesome kind of thrilling tired to be moving into your new home…after all the ups and downs! Can’t wait to come by!!! Love the dark stairs : ) and the red door…we had no choice but black but might later see about getting the dark wine color. Keep up with the Alleve πŸ™‚ and enjoy!

  3. Kim
    July 8, 2013

    Did you take pictures of that cabinet makeover you did? I would like to see those!

  4. J and M
    July 8, 2013

    Great pictures! I think I’ll be hunting for that aerosol sealant too. We have tile and surrounds in all the bathrooms and tile floors in the powder room and kitchen.

  5. S and P
    July 8, 2013

    Great picture! Everything looks great! I’m pretty sure we’ll need that sealant too. Thanks for sharing the info!

  6. Eric and Karrie
    July 8, 2013

    Everything is beautiful. I’m so jealous of that paneling up your stairs and 2nd floor hall. We did not get that much paneling and I’m already looking for ways to add it. It’s soo elegant.

  7. Brandon
    July 10, 2013

    Everything looks so great! I love the stark contrast in your master bath with the dark vanities and light granite. Very nice selections and a beautiful home πŸ™‚

    Not to highjack your blog posting, but Ryan Homes recently ran a promotion where they invited people to upload a photo of their favorite grilled food. Now they’re asking for people to vote for their favorite, today thru next Monday.

    I’d REALLY appreciate it if you could take the time to visit the link (https://apps.tradablebits.com/fb/fFyb) and vote for my entry: GRILLED CORN, AVOCADO AND TOMATO. Feel free to borrow the recipe I posted there as well!

    Thanks! – buildingwithryanhomes-blogspot.com

  8. savingqueen
    October 20, 2013

    Congratulations on your Avalon! Your molding looks awesome! We built an Avalon last year. We are really enjoying it. It has take so long to decorate and get everything just the way I want it! I will post pictures soon. http://www.ryanhomesjourney.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2013 by in July 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

