Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

CLOSED! WOO HOO!!

WE DID IT! It’s ours, lock, stock and barrel. It was seamless, about 35 minutes from start to finish. We signed and initialed a stack of papers, handed her a big certified check, and she handed us the keys with a big smile. We swung by the house, picked up the kids and loaded up the cars with the kitchen bar and counter stools, some rugs and our packing kit (paper towels, soap, toilet paper, trash bags and water). Friday night is our night to grab take out, so we got dinner from our favorite restaurant and had a picnic in the new house. Bliss.

We are tired and sweaty. Naturally, it’s about 200% humidity today and sunny for the first time in weeks. I took tons of photos and will post over the weekend. The refrigerator comes tomorrow, windows get measured on Monday, and the movers come on Tuesday. We didn’t want to rush, but move our things in gradually. Since we only live a mile from the new house, it’s easy for us to do that.

Wishing all of my fellow Ryan Bloggers who are behind me in the process a quick journey. It’s wonderful, I promise. And worth the wait, the stalking, the gritted teeth, the second-guessing and the ulcers about watery subfloors and broken windows! πŸ™‚

 

 

14 comments on “CLOSED! WOO HOO!!

  1. chateaunadine
    July 5, 2013

    Congrats on your closing wow were looking forward to seeing some pictures!

    • newbietobuilding!
      July 6, 2013

      Thanks! I’ve really enjoyed looking at your pictures–keep ’em coming!

  2. Melissa R
    July 5, 2013

    Congrats!!!!! I am so excited for you and your family. I can’t wait for your pictures. Enjoy your new home and keep in touch.

    • newbietobuilding!
      July 6, 2013

      Thanks, Melissa. You won’t believe how quickly you’ll be posting finished house pictures, too!

  3. J and M
    July 5, 2013

    Congrats!!!

  4. Stacey
    July 6, 2013

    Awesome!! Congrats!!

  5. Eric and Karrie
    July 6, 2013

    Yeah! Congrats, we’re right behind you guys.

  6. dakmlbevel
    July 6, 2013

    We drove by today and saw you had super nice seating on your porch! It’s the little things of settling in that I love the most. Just so you know I plan on coming by to meet you one day! Congrats on closing and enjoy being in your new place : )

    • newbietobuilding!
      July 6, 2013

      Thanks! Come on by–it only seems fair! I’ve been in your house twice, and it’s the reason we picked the Avalon. πŸ™‚ Would love to meet you face-to-face!

  7. Lindsay
    July 7, 2013

    Congrats! Can’t wait to see pics.

  8. S and P
    July 8, 2013

    CONGRATS!!!
    So happy for you…. I can’t wait to see the pictures!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2013 by in July 2013 and tagged , , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

