Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Walk-through meeting recap

We had our walk-through this morning, on a typically hot, humid Virginia morning. Given the humidity and the gallons and gallons of rain we’ve had lately, the outside portion of the walk-through was decidedly soggy. So soggy, in fact, that I let husband and PM squish through the sod and mud to poke around in the crawl space and the perimeter of the lot while I stood on the sidewalk and stared longingly at my new house. PM went over all the valves and shut-offs for the various systems, showed us the irrigation heads and went over the irrigation system. He explained the tankless hot water heater and how to take care of it, including how to flush it. It’s nice to know that we can hook that up to a generator should the power go out (or rather, when the power goes out!), and still take hot showers. In the dark hot showers, but still. He told us that even with vinyl siding, our porch columns and some of the white trim on the house is still painted, and will need to be cared for like other painted things. Also, we hadn’t realized our exterior post light is on a sensor and comes on automatically at dusk. Nice!

When we went inside, PM kindly warned us that we would finish up in the kitchen, because most homeowners would only want to talk about the master bedroom and the kitchen. (He was right–when we finally got to the kitchen, I just wandered about with a big smile on my face and stopped listening to what he was saying.) He patiently went over everything in the house: how to care for the floors; how the fixtures worked; which outlets were tied to the switches; the HVAC systems; how to seal the grout and granite surfaces; even how to use the low-flow toilets. I wasn’t sure how picky to be about the dings and paint splotches, but PM gave me a roll of blue tape and told me, “If you’re not happy with it, I’m not happy with it. Tape away.” Knowing it’s a holiday weekend, I don’t know how much will be able to be done before we close on Friday, but I don’t mind if they need to get in next week. All in all, we were really pleased with the quality of the build. There were the usual dings in the walls, and occasional sloppy paint here and there, but for the most part, it was all cosmetic. I did blue tape away, though, figuring if they have to come in anyway, might as well get every last spot.

The one area where I taped like crazy were our hardwood floors. I don’t know if it’s just because they’re so dark, but the missed stains here and there were really evident. Plus, the stairs. As you might remember, the stain they’d originally used wasn’t even a close match. As our PM said, it was like Burger King mulch–that artificial orangey-red. So we went with a darker brown stain. While it’s pretty, and all the men who have seen it really like it, it’s not quite as dark as I’d hoped. It’s certainly a much better match than what was first used, but I had a picture of something really dark. I think, down the road, I’d like to strip it and stain it an opaque black as a contrast. But for now, I’m satisfied. Not deliriously in love, but not seething with unhappiness.

There was so much we went over, I can’t even begin to cover it all here! We were there nearly three hours, and I would have happily spent another hour there, just wandering around barefoot and enjoying it without sneaking in or ducking workers. But only two more days until it’s ours! And while we were there, we got a call from NVR saying that we had our final approval and we were good to go on Friday. They gave us our final numbers for closing, and we will need to bring a little less to closing, so that’s nice.

So, happy Fourth of July, everyone! 🙂

2 comments on “Walk-through meeting recap

  1. Melissa R
    July 3, 2013

    Yay!! I am thrilled for you. I am glad you are so happy with your house. I will be the same way with the kitchen, I figure I might even cry when I see it all done. Enjoy your holiday and closing on Friday!!!!

    • newbietobuilding!
      July 3, 2013

      Thanks so much, Melissa! You’ve had quite a week with your house, too. Enjoy those fireworks tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2013 by in July 2013 and tagged , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

