Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Final walk-through tomorrow!!

I can’t believe I actually just typed that. In some ways it seems like it’s been years since we signed on the dotted line back in January, and in other ways, it feels like we just started this whole thing yesterday. There are still miles to go until we close on Friday, but I’ve been so pleased with everything so far (save the staircase, which I think I’m going to like, but haven’t been able to spend enough time checking it out…), that I just had to share some shout-outs.

  1. Shout-out to…wait for it…Verizon! Yes, I know, people either love them or think they’re the antichrist. Same with Comcast. But when I called to have our cable and internet service transferred over, even though we had just renewed our contract in May, they upgraded our internet speed for free, threw in an additional box top for free (SD, but still), and threw in a $400 Visa gift card. What???! That’s going right to a new television. So, we’re adding two new HD box tops to our existing service, and getting all those upgrades, and it only worked out to $13 more a month. Nice, Verizon. Be on time for our service appointment, and I might get that Verizon tattoo I’ve been thinking about. Yeah, not really.
  2. Shout-out to our PMs! We had one PM start us on our build, and another who’s been helping us with the finish. The first PM is super organized and on it, and I appreciate all he’s done. The quality was superb. But he wasn’t a great communicator, likely because we were more or less problem free. No squeaky wheel, no grease. The second PM was more communicative, which I appreciate, and he was just as on it. I have been so pleased by the quality of the work we’ve seen. Even the mistakes were of good, solid workmanship. All in all, good job PM1 and PM2!
  3. Shout-out to Home Depot. Normally, I am a Lowes fan, I admit it. When we went in on Saturday to get some things to finish fixing up our house, we decided to just go ahead and order replacement carpet and linoleum for the old house prior to listing it. (Yes, we haven’t listed our house yet. That would explain my anxiety nightmares and what I suspect is an ulcer the size of Mars.) When we went to the flooring desk, weary and dusty from a day of cleaning and packing, we learned there was a one-day promotion on measuring things. So we aren’t getting charged for measuring for the flooring ($35) and no charge for measuring for blinds for the new house ($65). Score!
  4. Shout-out to Dominion Power and our Utilities department for an easy addition of service to the new house. Columbia Gas, you are shut out for charging me $44 for a new hook-up. Loyal customer for 14 years, never been late paying a bill. And we are about to use a lot more gas with my cooktop.
  5. Shout-out to our original SR, Aaron. Oh, Aaron, we bought this house because of you. Sales reference books should be written about you, and your name should be reverently spoken in marketing classes. Which is probably why you got promoted, moved to the beach, and left us. You’re forgiven.
  6. Shout-out to NVR. I know I just heard the collective hiss from blogger land, but really, our LO and LP have been great. Talk to me on Friday, when we actually close, but I have no complaints. All the hoops we’ve jumped through are part of the process, and they’ve been patient and proactive. I look forward to being in your debt for the thirty seconds you will own us before hurling our note at another bank. Hopefully Wells Fargo, if you’re listening.

On to the walk-through tomorrow, and the closing on Friday!

We checked our newly-installed mailbox, and we'd already gotten a piece of mail! Ok, it was a service agreement from Verizon, but I was still thrilled.

We checked our newly-installed mailbox, and we’d already gotten a piece of mail! Ok, it was a service agreement from Verizon, but I was still thrilled.

7 comments on “Final walk-through tomorrow!!

  1. Kim
    July 2, 2013

    Yay!! Congrats, hoping this week flies by for you

  2. S and P
    July 2, 2013

    Awesome…. Congrats on the smooth sailing! All the very best for Friday!! 🙂

  3. Melissa R
    July 2, 2013

    Time has flown by. I remember when you started building your home. Enjoy and relax this weekend. I am so happy for you. You have given me so much great advice and encouragement these past seven months. Keep in touch and if you are in the Stafford area give me a call so we can meet up.

    • newbietobuilding!
      July 2, 2013

      I’d love to meet up! Thanks for all your kind words along this process, too. I continue to be surprised at all the help and support these blogs have offered–not to mention all the cyber-snooping. There is little I enjoy more than perusing other people’s houses! Can’t wait to be offering you my congrats at your closing. Soon!

  4. Stacey
    July 2, 2013

    Congrats!!! Super happy for you, and your home is beautiful! Smooth sailing from here on out 🙂

  5. Summer and Kelvin
    July 2, 2013

    So glad everything has gone smoothly! I also had a great time switching our Verizon service and our guy was early!
    Also we had to go private if you would like to follow us still please email me @ KKjongo@gmail.com so I can add you back in. Sorry about all the trouble.

  6. chateaunadine
    July 2, 2013

    Congrats on your walk through and closing Friday WOW that’s awesome! Good luck to you all!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2013 by in July 2013 and tagged , , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

