Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Kicked into high gear

We went by the house tonight, thinking nearly everything was done so what could be new? As it turns out, a lot! The door was painted that lovely, lovely Farmhouse Red. The rest of the sod was in, the mailbox had been installed, and the garage had been powerwashed and emptied of all trash. DANG IT! I was so hoping to score that carpet remnant that had been in there… Our garage door had been installed and everything had just been tidied up in general. Someone was still working inside, covering up the floors for the rest of the interior work that will take place tomorrow and Saturday. Our walk-through is Wednesday, so we are down to the wire now! Since it’s a holiday week, they can’t get a crew in for a final clean until the Monday after we close. Since we won’t really move in until Tuesday, I think that’s ok.

I will be really relieved once we see how the stairs turn out. Ugh. Now I am having nightmares about that. With the cherry floors and the maple cabinets, I’m wondering if espresso stairs will be too much different colored wood. But I am sticking with it. For now.

Garage, all nice and tidy

Garage, all nice and tidy

I am so in love with this door, it's ridiculous.

I am so in love with this door, it’s ridiculous.

PANTRY! Just what I need for my football-wrestling kid, and my lacrosse-basketball kid.

PANTRY! Just what I need for my football-wrestling kid, and my lacrosse-basketball kid.

The flash made everything orange-r than it is.

The flash made everything orange-r than it is.

Their to-do list. One of two taped to the cabinet.

Their to-do list. One of two taped to the cabinet.

Laundry room sink. I had no idea how deep it was going to be. Love it.

Laundry room sink. I had no idea how deep it was going to be. Love it.

The transition piece from the floor to the bathroom.

The transition piece from the floor to the bathroom.

:)

🙂

10 comments on “Kicked into high gear

  1. Eric and Karrie
    June 27, 2013

    You really are down to the wire! I love your door too. We did a Roycroft Copper Red. I wish our pantry was that big. Ours will be much larger than what we have now but I don’t think this space can ever be too big.

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 28, 2013

      Oh heck, no! Between the pantry, our new huge refrigerator, and the one we are putting in the garage, no one ever better whine “there’s nothing to eat!” ever again!

  2. Melissa R
    June 27, 2013

    It looks AWESOME!!! The door really makes the overall look of you home.

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 28, 2013

      Thanks. I am absurdly in love with red doors. I’ve always wanted one, and am so giddy to be getting one.

  3. Stacey
    June 27, 2013

    Your home looks really really nice! Both inside and out. Love the red door, and your kitchen. Getting close!!

  4. Kim
    June 28, 2013

    The laundry room sink looks awesome!!

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 28, 2013

      It is awesome! I don’t know why, but I was expected more like a kitchen sink. This is so deep, I almost want to get a small dog just so I can wash a dog in it. (But my collie wouldn’t approve….)

  5. S and P
    June 28, 2013

    Love your house, like Stacey said, inside and out! They did a great job with transition between floors, I was a little worried about that! Love your pantry! Can;t wait for ours!!:-)

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 28, 2013

      Thanks–you are getting there, too! It will be here before you know it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2013 by in June 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

