Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Floor crisis! And PM to the rescue!

Well, we had what I would consider was our first crisis with the house. Not bad for making it to the final two weeks, eh? I got an email from our other PM today at about 3:30. He attached a picture of the stain for our staircase with a nice and diplomatic message–basically, this was the color they were putting up and he’d appreciate it if I could call him back.

That orangy color is what they call "cherry." In person it looks like oak. And not a very pretty oak.

That orangy color is what they call “cherry.” In person it looks like oak. And not a very pretty oak.

I called him right away, and he couldn’t have been more apologetic about it. Apparently they have had trouble with the so-called cherry stain they use. The flooring head guy saw the colors were not going to match and stopped right away to call our PM. Love that they were so proactive! PM asked if I could stop by after work tonight to see it in person before they proceeded. I went to the house at 6 p.m. (husband was on a late conference call at work), and PM was running a little late and called to apologize and let me know what time he would be there. Again, so appreciated! I had a chance to talk to the flooring head guy, who kept apologizing that it wasn’t right and was assuring me they’d make it right. PM showed up, and we discussed our options. My feeling was that if we can’t make it a close match, it shouldn’t even try. I brought pictures of dark railings, almost an espresso or ebony color. Both PM and head floor guy thought that was a good alternative. PM walked me down to a neighboring house that had a dark floor and stair railing so I could see it for myself. I liked it, so we’re going to try it. (Trying to insert a link here! 

)

I’m really scared about making that choice, but I couldn’t stand the color above, so it has to be better than that!! I am so grateful for how prompt and attentive PM and head floor guy were. I feel really confident that they wouldn’t let me down, and that’s a lovely feeling as we get ready to write a really big check for this house next week! Please keep your fingers crossed that the stairs turn out as I pictured. 🙂

10 comments on “Floor crisis! And PM to the rescue!

  1. S and P
    June 25, 2013

    Thats very nice of your PM to be so apologetic and proactive. The crew also seems like they are willing to work or you. Very nice.

  2. Melissa R
    June 25, 2013

    Why can’t they match the stain? This is what they do for a living. I can go to Lowes and match stain(I’ve done it before). I love the dark woods but if you want cherry I would expect cherry. Fingers and toes crossed.

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 26, 2013

      It’s funny, but after growing up in Reston (planned community) and living in another planned community now, when someone tells me I can’t have a certain color in my house, I automatically acquiesce. You’re right–I wonder now why they can’t just go to Lowes and get another color. I suppose it’s because they have a contract with a contractor, who contracts with a supplier to get a certain brand and color palate. I think I was secretly coveting black (or at least really dark) railings and perhaps subconsciously willed this to happen…. We’ll see how it all turns out!

      • Melissa R
        June 26, 2013

        Nice, at least you are getting something you like. If you were making a concession I was going to pull you aside but since you are happy with this choice(I liked the picture you included on your post) then it worked out in your favor.

  3. joybucket
    June 25, 2013

    I love the darker stain contrasted with your wood color. Your PM sounds fantastic. I’ve been very pleased with how attentive our PM is too.

  4. hminnm
    June 26, 2013

    Glad that they were proactive. I do love that darker stain! I wish that I would have had that option for our entire floor! You don’t have too much longer!!!

  5. J and M
    June 26, 2013

    As others have mentioned, kudos to your PM for proactively seeking you out to find a suitable solution. If you go with the darker stain, I think it looks nice based on the picture you posted!

  6. Kim
    June 26, 2013

    You know how I feel about the contrasting stair and railing color 🙂

    I think it will look lovely. I am in love with mine!

    • Kim
      June 26, 2013

      *Should say in your case though, just contrasting in general. It will look great!

      • newbietobuilding!
        June 26, 2013

        Thanks! I think it might have been yours that I was thinking of when I suggested it. So hope it all turns out like I am imagining!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2013 by in June 2013 and tagged , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

