Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Finally got inside!

We finally scored the key and went inside the house today. All the floors and carpeting is in, and it’s lovely. I was imagining that the carpet we got upstairs was pure white, and was so pleased to see it’s darker than I was fearing. Also, I was surprised at how dark the cherry hardwoods are. I seem to remember that the flooring rep warned us that cherry floors go in lighter and gradually darken with exposure to the lights. Was I wrong? It’s hard to imagine the floors could get darker than they are now. I really love the floors as they are now! And I like the way they look with the maple cabinets. Again, I was freaking out they wouldn’t work together. So, big sigh of relief from me tonight. The outside carriage post light was installed on Saturday, but it rained buckets and they couldn’t get the shutters up.

Still to do inside:

  • stain the stairs and railings
  • replace the shower rod in the guest bath with a glass door
  • put in husband’s vanity (it arrived in pieces, so they had to reorder it)
  • install gas cooktop
  • shelving in all closets and pantry
  • finish touching up paint and trim in foyer

Still to do outside:

  • sod and shutters
  • deck

We close in less than two weeks! And with that, the dam has burst and things are being PURCHASED. We bought a Samsung refrigerator this weekend. Being that we chose black appliances, it’s hard to find one that we like that comes in black. But this is lovely: 28 cubic feet, a meat or beer drawer, freezer with slots for frozen pizzas. Ah, the finer things in life. And then we bought counter stools from Pier 1. Funny, it was important for me to get bar and counter stools to have in our new house from day one. We’ve never had an island or bar that allowed seating, but so many of my good memories are sitting around my family’s various islands and bars, laughing and talking and eating. (Or losing at card games…) I guess I am just anxious to begin making those memories in this house. I’ve picked out the bar stools I want (also from Pier 1), but had to draw the line and not order them today. I just balked at pulling any more money out of my account right now!

Here are some pictures of dusty and plastic-covered flooring:

Cherry floors in the guest room downstairs. We are going to change those registers at some point to better match the floors.

Cherry floors in the guest room downstairs. We are going to change those registers at some point to better match the floors.

The floors against the cabinets. It matches better than I'd feared.

The floors against the cabinets. It matches better than I’d feared.

Carpet in the family room!

Carpet in the family room!

Love this variegated carpet. Hope it will hide the dog and cat fur...and the teenage boy dirt.

Love this variegated carpet. Hope it will hide the dog and cat fur…and the teenage boy dirt.

Just noticed the sun and snowflake for the hot and cold on the faucet!

Just noticed the sun and snowflake for the hot and cold on the faucet!

The transition from the stairs to the upstairs carpet.

The transition from the stairs to the upstairs carpet.

Mirror in the master bath and column. Sigh. Blast that column...

Mirror in the master bath and column. Sigh. Blast that column…

...but it's marked "REMOVE"! Whew!

…but it’s marked “REMOVE”! Whew!

My laundry room and sink. Finally, a place to rinse out grubby football, wrestling and lacrosse gear!

My laundry room and sink. Finally, a place to rinse out grubby football, wrestling and lacrosse gear!

4 comments on “Finally got inside!

  1. Melissa R
    June 23, 2013

    It looks lovely. The carpet looks like it will hide dirt well, that was also a factor for us when we selected our carpet.

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 24, 2013

      Thanks. In my memory (since it’s been, what?, six months since we chose everything!), the carpets were all virtually white. Glad to see them in and see that we did go darker.

  2. S and P
    June 25, 2013

    LOL I just commented on your previous post.

    LOVE your floors!! And the faucet is cool. Everything looks awesome.

    Shop away my friend!!! 🙂

  3. Kim
    June 26, 2013

    I’m so excited for you. Almost done!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 23, 2013 by in June 2013 and tagged , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

