Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

That whimpering sound was me…

…peering through the windows at my beautiful cherry floors and family room carpet. Yes, we are still locked out, and I have resorted to squealing with joy when I found a scrap of carpet in the dirt and a 2×3′ remnant in the garage. We are getting in tomorrow to measure for blinds and furniture, and I plan on peeling back that blasted cardboard and just staring at my hardwood floors.

What they have done outside:

  • graded the front and backyard
  • cut the apron on the driveway
  • installed the irrigation system
  • marked for our FIVE trees (woot woot! Thought we were only getting four.)
  • HVAC units installed
  • shutters finally moved out of garage and ready to go up tomorrow
  • prettied up the drywall in the garage

What they still have to do outside:

  • the deck
  • sod and landscaping
  • post lights
  • mailbox
  • install our garage door
  • replace our builder garage stairs with our permanent ones
  • paint the columns and finish installing the porch railing

No idea what’s left inside, but we hope to find out tomorrow! Two weeks from today, we close. Honestly, it seemed to take so long to get here, and now it’s just flown by. I’ve only been buying little things for the house–nightlights and new towels and a throw pillow or two. But today I purchased our first big ticket item. (It’s a big ticket item for me, anyway!) I bought a 8×10′ all-wool rug for the morning room on RugsUSA.com for 80% off. I don’t know that I can figure out how to post a picture of it here, but I will when it arrives and we’re all settled! When I ordered it, I really had to consider what address to put down for shipping. I opted for the old one, figuring it will arrive within the next three weeks. Since I don’t have a picture of the rug, I offer for your viewing pleasure pictures of the outside of the house, and really pathetic ones through the windows. Sigh.

Is that pipe supposed to be at that angle?

Is that pipe supposed to be at that angle?

Two units! Finally, a house that should be as cool upstairs as it is down. C'mon, August! Do your worst!

Two units! Finally, a house that should be as cool upstairs as it is down. C’mon, August! Do your worst!

DIning room, through the window. Argh. All that cardboard!

Living room, through the window. Argh. All that cardboard!

You can just barely make out a strip of the cherry floors by the walls and in the bay window.

You can just barely make out a strip of the cherry floors by the walls and in the bay window.

Wrought-iron railing.

Wrought-iron railing.

Drywall in garage. This is from yesterday, before the irrigation and other water controls were installed.

Drywall in garage. This is from yesterday, before the irrigation and other water controls were installed.

Side yard, all graded and pretty.

Side yard, all graded and pretty.

Back of the house, just waiting for the deck!

Back of the house, just waiting for the deck!

Getting close now!!

Getting close now!!

2 comments on “That whimpering sound was me…

  1. Melissa R
    June 21, 2013

    Love it. I am partial to your siding. Just think about the cardboard as protection for your gorgeous floors. It’s like Christmas and having all the presents under the tree taunting you. Can’t wait to see inside.

  2. S and P
    June 25, 2013

    Nice! Looks like there not alot left. I’ll be looking forward for tomorrows pics..

    I should say, you have a good camera, your thru the window pics are also clear.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2013 by in June 2013 and tagged , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

