Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Two weeks to go, and we are firmly locked out.

Well, after being cute and coy about going in through an unlocked window the last week or two, we were shut out. Literally. The one or two windows that were unlocked were locked up TIGHT tonight, and we were left to stand on our porch forlornly, peering through the windows to see if they’ve started the hardwood floors yet. I don’t know what tipped them off–this blog, or the email I sent last night that casually asked about something that we spied in the house last night that wasn’t supposed to be there. (Those ratted columns appeared in our master bath! After all that glee about not having them. Karma, I guess.)

Our final walk-through is set for two weeks from today, so I guess I can hold on. Stalking our house every day will be a hard habit to break, though. But it will be ours in sixteen days, so I just have to remember that…

Progress today that we could see:

  • garage drywalled
  • driveway apron cut and paved
  • all exterior lights installed

And that’s it. Sigh.

What still needs to be done:

  • hardwood floors installed
  • stairs and railings stained
  • HVAC units installed outside
  • landscaping and sod
  • composite deck put up
  • exterior garage door installed
  • wrought iron porch railing installed

I will have patience, I will have patience…

8 comments on “Two weeks to go, and we are firmly locked out.

  1. Melissa R
    June 19, 2013

    Yay! I can’t believe you are almost in.

  2. Ella May
    June 20, 2013

    Very curious to know whether you considered making a copy of the key borrowed from SR or PM to visit the house?

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 20, 2013

      We’ve never had our grubby mitts on the key. The house has always been open, or we’ve gotten creative. I do need to get back in this weekend, though, to measure for blinds and the fridge. At that point, it will only be a week until we’re in, so it’s probably not worth it to try and copy the key. I am learning just how very little I am into delayed gratification.

  3. Kim
    June 20, 2013

    Yay!! So happy you are almost there!! The next two weeks will fly, I promise!

  4. S and P
    June 20, 2013

    Maybe they can tell you in with their key in their work hours….like what Ella had mentioned!

    Excited for you….2 weeks will pass by before you notice!

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 20, 2013

      Thanks! If I can’t get a key, I may have to go by while they’re still working. We’ve tried to stay out of their way, but that might not be possible now. So close and yet so far!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2013 by in June 2013 and tagged , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

