Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh, this is getting real now…

Happy Father’s Day to all the men out there who make this world a better place for children and families!

The progress in the house really seems to be speeding right along. Each time we break into our house, er, go into our now locked house through the door and NOT the unlocked window (ahem), there is something new. Sometimes it takes a little digging to uncover what it is, like the installed whole-house fan or the outlets in the floor. And sometimes it’s obvious, like the metal porch roof and the appliances! We spied a box of our hardwood floors in one of the closets downstairs, so I think that should be the next up. I am starting to worry that it won’t go with the kitchen cabinets, after all (something I’ve worried about since we chose them–I simply picked the two things we liked the most, rather than choosing something based on what it matched). But as my husband patiently points out to me whenever I worry out loud, it’s too late to do anything about that now.

Closing date is set for Friday, July 5, at 1 p.m., and the movers are coming to our house Tuesday, July 9. We figure the weekend will give us the time to install blinds, seal the grout and granite, get the kitchen set up and just run around all that space gleefully. 🙂

Love this faucet!

Love this faucet!

Yes, black appliances. I don't care for stainless, and happily used that $900 credit for granite in my bathrooms.

Yes, black appliances. I don’t care for stainless, and happily used that $900 credit for granite in my bathrooms.

Microwave. Wish the burners were in, but they sent electric, and we're getting gas.

Microwave. Wish the burners were in, but they sent electric, and we’re getting gas.

GE dishwasher. Ugh. We've had nothing but horrible luck with GE dishwashers. Two different models have been recalled for fire risk. Hoping for better luck with this one.

GE dishwasher. Ugh. We’ve had nothing but horrible luck with GE dishwashers. Two different models have been recalled for fire risk. Hoping for better luck with this one.

Whole-house fan in the upstairs hall bathroom. It was running while we were there, swapping out the stale air for new stuff. Nice.

Whole-house fan in the upstairs hall bathroom. It was running while we were there, swapping out the stale air for new stuff. Nice.

Two sinks in the boys' bathroom. Love this color combination.

Two sinks in the boys’ bathroom. Love this color combination.

Master shower. So happy with this, I can't stand it.

Master shower. So happy with this, I can’t stand it.

IMG_0912

Attic in the 4th bedroom

Attic in the 4th bedroom

We are not the first inhabitants of our new house! Apparently some wasps dig this place as much as we do. Boys being boys, our kids rapped sharply on this and then ran. No one was home.

We are not the first inhabitants of our new house! Apparently some wasps dig this place as much as we do. Boys being boys, our kids rapped sharply on this and then ran. No one was home.

Oh, these holes hurt so much more now...

Oh, these holes hurt so much more now…

Tankless hot water heater!

Tankless hot water heater!

Black metal porch roof is in! Just waiting for black shutters and farmhouse red front door.

Black metal porch roof is in! Just waiting for black shutters and farmhouse red front door.

12 comments on “Oh, this is getting real now…

  1. Melissa R
    June 16, 2013

    Love it! Glad you are getting the tankless water heater. It all looks amazing. Enjoy unpacking and settling in your new house in the next few weeks. I can’t believe you are almost in.

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 17, 2013

      Thanks! Apparently we can hook a generator to the tankless hot water heater to have hot showers when we lose power. Who knew? I just like the idea of not having to worry about a traditional heater breaking and spilling all that water in our garage. We’ll see how this thing actually works.

      • Melissa R
        June 17, 2013

        My parents have one and love it. We are planning on swapping the regular one our in a few years for the tankless one. Be aware it will cause the people in your home to take VERY long showers since the water stays hot forever.

      • newbietobuilding!
        June 17, 2013

        Oh great. The men in my house already favor long showers. Between endless hot water and the bench seat in the master shower, guess I’ll plan on never seeing my husband again. 🙂

  2. Summer and Kelvin
    June 16, 2013

    We were using the unlocked window as well but they must of figured it out and started to lock it! Make sure you switch up your windows that are “accidently” left unlocked. 😉 Good luck it looks great

  3. S and P
    June 17, 2013

    It’s getting close…..
    Everything’s looking pretty good! Love you master showers and faucets! Great going….

  4. Kim
    June 17, 2013

    Looking amazing!

  5. J and M
    June 17, 2013

    Looks great! Loving how your selections go together. We also went with dark vanities and a gray granite top once we saw it enough times in the model homes. And as I had in earlier posts of mine, we’re so glad we upgraded our faucet too!

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 17, 2013

      Thanks–think we’re really going to love that faucet. Isn’t that silly? Wish I could go back and tell my 16-year-old self how excited I would be over a kitchen faucet. She’d laugh herself silly and then go listen to the Cure in the dark.

  6. Eric and Karrie
    June 17, 2013

    I really like your kitchen faucet. We are looking at replacing ours with something like that (same color/finish). Something that nice wasn’t even an option for us, so we just went plain Jane. You guys are so close, how exciting! Not sure if you got garage door openers but they occasionally make the codes 1,2,3,4.

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 17, 2013

      Ah, clever! No, we have to get our own garage door opener, which reminds me that is one more thing I have to do… As long as they don’t figure out the window isn’t locked, we should be good!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2013 by in June 2013 and tagged , , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

