Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Getting so excited now!

Well, once again I just feel like typing, “HOLY %$&^!” But I will refrain. When I went by today, we had the following:

  • linoleum laid in the laundry room and boys’ bathroom
  • tile laid in the downstairs guest room
  • tile laid in our bathroom–on the floor AND in the shower (EEEEEEEE!!)
  • outlets and light switches installed
  • phone and cable jacks installed
  • all the knobs and trim finished on the cabinets
  • trim all finished in the two-story foyer
  • some doorknobs installed
  • siding, trim and porch ceiling done
  • sidewalk marked out for the concrete
Let there be light! (Eventually.)

Let there be light! (Eventually.)

I am not a fan of the lights installed this way. All I can think about is all the dust that will gather in those. Will ask to turn over.

I am not a fan of the lights installed this way. All I can think about is all the dust that will gather in those. Will ask to turn over.

Tile in the boys' shower. I thought we were getting that frou-frou floral decorative tile. I am ok without it in here.

Tile in the boys’ shower. I thought we were getting that frou-frou floral decorative tile. I am ok without it in here.

Our bathroom. (Cue the choirs of angels singing...)

Our bathroom. (Cue the choirs of angels singing…)

Master shower. Love that listello. Not crazy about the soap dish, but I don't care enough to kvetch about it.

Master shower. Love that listello. Not crazy about the soap dish, but I don’t care enough to kvetch about it.

Love this color combination.

Love this color combination.

IMG_0853

Knobs in the kitchen. I thought, since we are getting the ORB finishes, the knobs in here would be that as well. Must ask about that.

Knobs in the kitchen. I thought, since we are getting the ORB finishes, the knobs in here would be that as well. Must ask about that.

Porch columns and roof.

Porch columns and roof.

Garage carriage light.

Garage carriage light.

Paved driveway--finally, no more twisted ankles!

Paved driveway–finally, no more twisted ankles!

9 comments on “Getting so excited now!

  1. Melissa R
    June 12, 2013

    Love all of it. I can’t believe you are at this stage already. Time Flys. I would ask them about the listello in the white tiled bathroom, it was an extra charge so if you paid for it I would make them fix it.

  2. dakmlbevel
    June 13, 2013

    If you put vinyl in then you don’t get the decorative trim, it comes if you have upgraded the tile to the what 6×6. I thought the small tile was standard?
    Are you all packed? House sold or are you going to rent it?

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 14, 2013

      The small tile is standard, but I really thought we’d get that ivy listello. There are boxes of those tiles in the house, but I suspect they might be for the downstairs shower. Our current house is slowly starting to be packed up. We are getting ready to list it next week. Sold, not rented!! I don’t want to have to manage two houses! πŸ™‚

  3. S and P
    June 14, 2013

    Everything looks great…but I absolutely LOVE our master bath!

  4. Eric and Karrie
    June 14, 2013

    I am soooo jealous of your master bath. That is one of the features we had fallen in love with on the Avalon. We had the room to do this on the Highgrove but for some reason they do not offer this option. The Highgrove and Avalon are so close in floor plan, I’m not sure why they did this. My only guess is that when the housing market took a dive, they stopped selling the bigger houses so they stopped upgrading the options and plans. My luck, they will build one in our development with an Avalon style bathroom just torture me.

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 15, 2013

      Oh, I know how that goes! They’ve introduced a new model in our neighborhood, and I really think I might have chosen that if we’d had the option to. But then I remind myself of all the things we love about the Avalon. It’s funny–everyone told us there was no such thing as a perfect house, but we’d figured that by building our own, it would be. They were right! I figure there will always be something we wish we had, or didn’t have. Your Highgrove is absolutely awesome. I’m enjoying watching it take shape. πŸ™‚

  5. Ella May
    June 17, 2013

    Your ceramic tile combination and colors are very nice. We looked at ceramic before we started removing it to save money, but nothing looked that good, and that’s the main reason we did not do it. Looks fantastic though.

    • dakmlbevel
      June 17, 2013

      We did this after we moved in!!! Thank you so much we love how it turned out too!!

  6. dakmlbevel
    June 17, 2013

    oooops thought this was something else : )

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2013 by in June 2013 and tagged , , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

