Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Pebble Clay and a new driveway!

Well, the progress at this point is at once really thrilling and fast, and at the same time, endlessly slow and terrifying. Apparently, I have found the wormhole, and it’s the last few weeks of home construction.

I spoke with our PM today to verify what trees we are getting. We get four, two maples in the front (standard for our neighborhood) and two flowering trees. I requested cherry trees. I like redbuds in the spring, but I would rather have green leaves all summer. It’s odd the things we fixate on… While I had him on the phone (a rare occurrence), I asked what was going on at the house today. He said the siding was going up, we might have our driveway paved and the cable and phone guys were there, putting in our wiring. When we swung by on our way home from work, the siding was nearly complete. They’d started over the weekend, but I thought it would take more than two days! The siding guys were still hard at work, so we sloooowly drove by, trying not to creep them out as we stared longingly at our Pebble Clay siding. We went home, killed a little time, and drove by again. Drat that pesky work ethic, those guys were still hard at work! So we drove around through some of the other neighborhoods we had considered, feeling happy that we’d chosen our home and our lot. Twenty minutes later, it’s well after 7 p.m., so surely those guys have knocked off for a cold one, right? Nope. Still up on the scaffolding, finishing the last wee bit of exposed house by the roofline. I’m happy to see them hard at work, but I really wanted to get inside! Tomorrow, I guess.

So after this–flooring (so excited!), appliances and then HVAC work. Still on for the 5th of July. Calling movers tomorrow.

My lovely nephew, who lives in Africa. This is why we are building this house--so we can have all the people we love in the world come and visit, for an hour or a month.

My lovely nephew, who lives in Africa. This is why we are building this house–so we can have all the people we love in the world come and visit, for an hour or a month.

Pebble Clay siding! I love it.

Pebble Clay siding! I love it.

Glad the driveway is more gently sloped than I'd feared. I know they still have to cut in the curb, but I think the boys will be able to play basketball.

Glad the driveway is more gently sloped than I’d feared. I know they still have to cut in the curb, but I think the boys will be able to play basketball.

Siding guys still hard at work well after 7 p.m. I actually like the way it looks without shutters...

Siding guys still hard at work well after 7 p.m. I actually like the way it looks without shutters…

7 comments on “Pebble Clay and a new driveway!

  1. kimberly
    June 12, 2013

    House is looking beautiful!

  2. Melissa R
    June 13, 2013

    Love to see pebble clay siding. It confirms that I chose wisely. Fingers crossed you move fourth of July weekend.

  3. dakmlbevel
    June 13, 2013

    I don’t remember pebble gray being an option but they change it up sometimes. It’s looking great can’t wait to go by!

  4. Eric and Karrie
    June 14, 2013

    We seem to have the same problem with crews working until late in the evening. Especially with it being light until after 9pm.

  5. Ella May
    June 17, 2013

    Love the porch columns and roof. Would have been great to have something like that as kids when we came back from school and waited outside for ages while it rained!

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 17, 2013

      Thanks. I’d always been hesitant about a porch because they can block a lot of light, but after we picked this lot, we knew the west-facing orientation would allow a nice, sunny afternoon in spite of the porch. I think we’re going to use this a lot! One of my criteria in our elevation was having a covered door of some kind. I hate letting people I don’t know into my house to talk, and I also hate making them stand outside in the rain. 🙂

  6. Driveways Hornchurch
    July 23, 2013

    looks amazing… well done.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2013 by in June 2013 and tagged , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

