Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Wood trim is going up! And, sadly, so are the interest rates.

Well, some days chicken salad, some days chicken… you know how this saying goes. The interest rate is creeping up, and we are only just now inside the window to lock our rates. We got our letter from NVR to go ahead and lock, so I am planning to call tomorrow. It’s at about 4% now, .5% higher than when we started this whole thing back in January. I was absolutely stressed out about it the other day, but I have to let it go. I have no control over interest rates, no matter how much I fret. So we’ll just figure out if we need to put more down, or move some things around to offset the hike in our monthly payments.

On the bright side, the wood trim is flying up all over the house. All the upstairs windows are trimmed, and the chair rail is up upstairs. The railings on our stairs are going in, and ALL OUR KITCHEN CABINETS ARE IN! Holy cow. If I ever, ever complain that I don’t have space for something in my kitchen, my husband has my permission to call TLC, because that would mean I’ve become a hoarder. I was so thrilled to go into the house, but didn’t have my camera. So here are some iPhone shots.

Hope all is going well with your houses, fellow bloggers!

Our lovely railings!

Our lovely railings!

Kitchen cabinets! Just awaiting the countertops and final trim.

Kitchen cabinets! Just awaiting the countertops and final trim.

photo-13

Holy smokes! I'd forgotten how immense that island is...

Holy smokes! I’d forgotten how immense that island is…

7 comments on “Wood trim is going up! And, sadly, so are the interest rates.

  1. Christina
    June 3, 2013

    Beautiful, Amy! Look at that big, bright kitchen (lol at the “hoarder” comment, I feel the same – especially with the oversize pantry for even more storage). Great double doors into the bonus room – can’t wait to see how that room turns out 🙂

    I’m in the same boat with the interest rates. They went up the week before NVR gave me the lock approval (even thought I was like 45 days to close and I should have had permission). We were looking at 3.6% on May 18th (but no approval to lock), now we’re going to be lucky to get 4%. Its totally frustrating…

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 4, 2013

      I talked at length to our mortgage guy today, and the rates are getting a little painful. I keep trying to tell myself they’re still much better than what we have on our current house, but that’s little comfort. I think we’re working out paying down a little more to offset the increased interest. I’d SO much rather have that money for new furniture, but oh well. When will you be able to lock? Since you’re ahead of us, shouldn’t you be able to do it now?

  2. Melissa R
    June 3, 2013

    I love the glass cabinets in the kitchen. I’m bummed about the interest rates. Hopefully the change isn’t that noticeable. Try running the numbers to see what the monthly difference us and maybe it won’t be so bad. It is coming together beautifully.

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 4, 2013

      Thanks, Melissa. We’ve run the numbers, and if we eke out more money from our (now pitiful) savings, we can offset some of the increase. Hopefully this is it–no more money surprises! (Unless they’re good ones…!)

  3. S and P
    June 14, 2013

    Looking good… We are bummed about the interest rates too…. And we are not in the time frame to lock yet. SO we are just sitting back and watching the rates climb!

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 15, 2013

      I keep telling myself in the great scheme of things, a half percent increase doesn’t matter that much, but it just irks me. Oh well. We can always refinance in a few months. Our base house price has already gone up, so we should (theoretically) be starting with a tiny bit of equity in the house. Hang in there, and don’t check rates every day! It will make you nuts!

  4. joybucket
    June 21, 2013

    Checking the interest rates everyday does make me nuts! I still check them even though I’m locked in. I worry that we won’t close before my lock guarantee and I’ll have to go with the current rate or shill out more money in points to keep the rate. But if it wasn’t rates to worry about I’m sure I’d find something else to be stressed over.

    Your kitchen is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2013 by in June 2013 and tagged , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

