Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

EEEEKK! We have cabinets and stuff!

Well, the last few days I’ve been twitching to post picture after picture of our drywall progress, but I’ve refrained. Even you, my fellow bloggers, don’t really have any interest in seeing the incremental smoothing and refining of random walls. Even my husband’s enthusiasm is waning just a bit. But today, not only were the walls nicely smoothed and ready for the next step, but the CONSTRUCTION FAIRY came by the lot and left us a garage full of goodies. So, again, I apologize for the loud squeak some of you may have heard a few hours ago. It was just me, discovering my garage is now crammed full of boxes of all kinds of cool things that were, unfortunately, sealed up tight and not jarred open during transit. (Darn it all. I was so hoping to be able to peek.)

So, here are pictures of smooth drywall and boxes of stuff. đŸ™‚

We couldn't even get into the house through the garage anymore. Too much stuff!

We couldn’t even get into the house through the garage anymore. Too much stuff!

My lovely espresso bathroom cabinets.

My lovely espresso bathroom cabinets.

Fra-gil-e. It's Italian!

Fra-gil-e. It’s Italian!

"Hon! Fixed the newel post!"

“Hon! Fixed the newel post!”

Oh, I still love this bay window. Even though someone had the audacity to build a house right next to ours. With windows facing our bay window. Sigh. A small ornamental tree's going up as soon as we move in.

Oh, I still love this bay window. Even though someone had the audacity to build a house right next to ours. With windows facing our bay window. Sigh. A small ornamental tree’s going up as soon as we move in.

While I am thrilled to see a door knob, this means we are one step closer to being locked out.

While I am thrilled to see a door knob, this means we are one step closer to being locked out.

Love those low-E windows. Just look at the difference in the sunlight coming in the glass and the open space.

Love those low-E windows. Just look at the difference in the sunlight coming in the glass and the open space.

Nine gallons of paint are ready and waiting!

Forty-five gallons of paint are ready and waiting!

5 comments on “EEEEKK! We have cabinets and stuff!

  1. Melissa R
    May 29, 2013

    I’m so excited for you. And yes I heard the eek all the way up here. Love it!

  2. J and M
    May 30, 2013

    Great updates! Love the large non-standard shower downstairs! The lack of pillars also makes the master bath seem more spacious (as if it wasn’t big enough!). Can’t wait to see these cabinets and railings installed in your home.

  3. Ella May
    May 31, 2013

    Love the goodies. I think this is the next major milestone, after you’ve been seeing structural changes since day one, now the house is becoming a home, and gains character. Sorry about the bay windows facing the house next door’s windows. When we were deciding on windows I had our SR look up the houses around us (only one was up) to see if they had side windows, and we only added windows on the sides where they did not have any..

  4. kimberly
    May 31, 2013

    How exciting, lots of action happening. You are going to be in your house before you know it!

  5. Eric and Karrie
    June 1, 2013

    Great news, can’t wait to see it all come together!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2013 by in May 2013 and tagged , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

