Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Walls!! Now it looks like a house.

The drywall went up in two days. Unbelievable. They even had time to sweep up a lot of the nails/screws that littered the floor the first day of drywalling. (Note: wear really good shoes and still watch where you’re going, or avoid the house if your tetanus is not up to date!) Our PM had told us that the house would look bigger once the drywall went up. Not sure I agree. It was such a shock to see walls at first; it took me several trips around the house to acclimate to the new perspective. Building a house is so weird–first it looks tiny when the footers are poured, then it looks bigger when it’s first framed. Small again when the house is wrapped, then ginormous when the roof is finished. I think it will look huge once again when there are more recognizable things installed, like floors or counters.

Here are some pictures!

The kitchen

The kitchen

Morning room! (Now this room actually looks bigger with drywall.)

Morning room! (Now this room actually looks bigger with drywall.)

The living room. I haven't bought any furniture or appliances yet, but artwork for this room. If I can't paint, I can hang stuff!

The living room. I haven’t bought any furniture or appliances yet, but artwork for this room. If I can’t paint, I can hang stuff!

Our NSR--a shower in the downstairs guest bath instead of a tub. Dang, this is bigger than ours!

Our NSR–a shower in the downstairs guest bath instead of a tub. Dang, this is bigger than ours!

The upstairs bonus room

The upstairs bonus room

The master bedroom :)

The master bedroom 🙂

Our shower. Can't wait to see it with the tile.

Our shower. Can’t wait to see it with the tile.

Our bath! (And no columns!)

Our bath! (And no columns!)

9 comments on “Walls!! Now it looks like a house.

  1. Melissa R
    May 23, 2013

    Looking good. It’s nice you got the shower instead of the tub. We couldn’t get any NSR’s. I can’t wait for them to start start our home.

    • newbietobuilding!
      May 24, 2013

      I am SO sending hurry up and get started vibes your way! Can’t wait until you’re posting pics like this. It will be soon, I have faith. 🙂

  2. dakmlbevel
    May 24, 2013

    I don’t care much for the columns…I’d like to see yours…I think we need steps and it’s awful wide to get into the tub…I have short legs!!!!! Hope for some dry weather to come by and see!!!!

    • newbietobuilding!
      May 24, 2013

      Come on by anytime! Lot 18 in Walkers Chase. I was so happy they could leave the columns off. I think it’s much nicer, particularly with the two-car garage bathroom. They also filled in the niche. For the life of me, I couldn’t think of anything to put in there (other than my husband’s 80s-era high school picture)!

  3. S and P
    May 30, 2013

    WOW! very cool! That master is HUGE!!!!

    Love the morning room, bay window in living, and everything else!!! Gorgeous!

  4. Ella May
    May 31, 2013

    It is all beautiful, very beautiful. My favorite three are the morning room (love those windows!), the bonus room (so much space, so many windows, so much light), and the bath (what a retreat!). Enjoy, it will end up being the most beautiful house around.

  5. dakmlbevel
    June 13, 2013

    Pictures look great, love the Avalon! I just recently put a vase with flowers, What a laugh on the high school pic! Will try to come by next week….I am off for the summer!!! I’d like to change the pillars to some kind of shelving cabinetry? For towels etc. We are still working on the downstairs mostly.

    • newbietobuilding!
      June 14, 2013

      Come on by! I think it may get locked soon, as they are starting to get ready to put some of the “good” stuff in.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by in May 2013 and tagged , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

