Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OK, now is when I start freaking out.

I have my first rant for this blog. It’s only partially about Ryan Homes, and mostly about an unnamed big-box home improvement store. Love the store, hate the internet. The pre-drywall stuff is nearing its completion, so I went ahead and ordered the Roxul Safe ‘N Sound to try to soundproof the bonus room, our bedroom and the guest room downstairs. We have a teenager and nearly-a-teenager, and wanted to be able to sleep without hearing the Xbox or computer or late-night refrigerator raids. So two weeks ago I ordered the Roxul from the online part of the big-box store. The site assured me it would be in our local store by May 17. We knew our pre-drywall meeting was coming up this next week, so the timing was perfect. When I called yesterday to see if it was in and when I could pick it up, the store had no record of it shipping at all. Even though the money was already out of my account (and you all know, that stuff is NOT cheap). After a long discussion with the guy who answered the phone at the store, the customer service people for the website, and eventually the store manager (this all took nearly an hour), the bottom line is this: I may have ordered it online, and they may have debited my account that money, but the order never made it to the distributor. And guess what? We can’t get it in time for our pre-drywall meeting, which is set for Monday. I am FURIOUS. Everyone I spoke to was incredibly nice and apologetic, and tried their best to make it right, including calling local building supply companies to see if they have it, or something similar, in stock. At the end of the day, I feel like the people at the store sincerely felt bad and were trying to fix it, but the bottom line is this: I can’t get the stuff in time to put it in, and I’m really upset about it.

Also, a tiny Ryan Homes rant: we’d told our PM that the only days we couldn’t have our pre-drywall meeting were May 20, 21 and the 24, since husband and I have work commitments that can’t be rescheduled. So when is the meeting? The 20th. Grrrr. It’s fine for me, but my husband is faced with missing this meeting, or missing something at work. While I have appreciated the speed and precision of building with this conglomerate of building, the inflexibility of the schedule is rearing its ugly head right now.

But, to be fair, I need to counter-balance my complaint. After this week, we were feeling a little neglected by our PM, and I was prepared to be surly about not being in contact with him more regularly, and having this meeting on Monday. In order to get my happy feelings back about the house, we went by Friday night, and all the little things that were wrong in the house had either been marked and noted with spray paint, or fixed altogether. The slight “modifications” that we’d talked to our PM about WAAAYYY back in the pre-construction meeting had been noted and taken care of, including removing that niche! And a few other things that I won’t mention here, because I don’t think he’s supposed to do them. So, I am 75% happy and 25% unhappy right now.

And why, you might ask, am I freaking out? Because we got our letter from NVR and our close date is….oh crap, can’t even type it out without panicking….is July 5. You’ll note, fellow bloggers, that our date on the little countdown widget was July 24. Ummmm. Crap. We haven’t even put our current house on the market yet. Yup, freaking out.

Sorry for the long rant/ freak-out. As my teenager would say, “First world problem.” And so, I will no longer whine about being able to hear my kids (who are healthy, will have a roof over their heads and clean water to drink) play video games into the wee hours on a Friday night. I will be grateful for this lovely new house, and my lovely family to live in it with.

And, if one of you who is Roxul-free could tell me that the walls aren’t paper thin, I would appreciate it sincerely!

5 comments on “OK, now is when I start freaking out.

  1. Eric and Karrie
    May 19, 2013

    Wow, I got angry just reading this. You certainly have every right to be upset. My spouse gets upset with me because I assume everyone is incompetent until they prove otherwise. I’m rarely disappointed this way and frequently surprised to get great service.

    One thing I did notice about being in the models, especially on high customer traffic days was that there could be 10-15 people in the house and you didn’t know it. In my current house, one of my kids can have one friend over and you can’t find a quiet corner of the house. I was fairly impressed with how most of RH floor plans have designed in sound buffers…like closets and bathrooms in between bedrooms and laundry rooms. The building materials used are the same used in all residential homes though. 2×4 studs, 24″ on center and 1/2″ Sheetrock. I’ve been contemplating putting in insulation too and really don’t like that this isn’t just a Non-standard request. I don’t like the idea of sneaking in and potentially jeopardizing the relationship we have with our PM. If RH offered it, I would have paid for it.

    • newbietobuilding!
      May 20, 2013

      Thanks for empathizing! I was so irritated, and couldn’t even talk to the right people to really yell at them! Having worked in customer service many years ago, I never yell at the poor bastard who simply answers the phone. It’s nearly never their fault. Grrr. We did get to insulate the exterior wall of the garage, though, and I have a lead on the mineral wool insulation. The timing might allow us to sneak in on Tuesday night and put it in. We’ll see.

  2. Rachel
    May 20, 2013

    Our house is quite quiet. The only noisy aspects are the main drains. The drain for the master bath runs right through the family room wall and the laundry and secondary bath drain go through the living room. Those are the only areas that I really wish would have received insulation. The other noisy aspect is the furnace. There is no variable speed motor option, so when it kicks on, it’s loud. Because one of the main returns is in the hall near the family room where we often watch tv, we usually have to turn up the volume when the furnace is on and turn it down when it stops. I’ve talked to our PM and the furnace tech and neither could provide any solutions. It’s just something we’ve learned to live with.

    • newbietobuilding!
      May 20, 2013

      Glad to hear it. We might be able to put some insulation in, but it will be tricky, and may not work. I’m glad to hear it’s quiet on its own.

  3. Melissa R
    May 20, 2013

    Sorry to hear about the mistake at the store, I would call their corporate office and see what concessions you can get from them. As for adding more insulation, don’t worry too much about it, the house should be plenty quiet and this will save you some money in the long run. I hope the move up date on closing works out, we have been delayed so much that the thought of an early close would be like Christmas for us.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2013 by in May 2013, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

