Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Plans, pipes and power (eventually)

We are at the stage right now where the changes are only exciting to us. (And maybe other bloggers.) The plumbing is–to our inexperienced eye–more or less done for now. And the electrical stuff keeps multiplying each day, like weeds. Every time we go into the house there are new wires and holes cut in things. And we are thrilled to see how many recessed lights we will be getting. There are six in the master bathroom alone, and nine in the kitchen. Looks like I really will be able to do surgery on our massive kitchen island.

Here are some pictures!

So fun to see the plans taped to the morning room and figure out what everything means.

So fun to see the plans taped to the morning room and figure out what everything means.

Plans--no niche!

Plans–no niche!

The hazards of visiting the house in the rain

The hazards of visiting the house in the rain

Think this is a good sign: the wood for our bedroom was stamped Feb. 14. :)

Think this is a good sign: the wood for our bedroom was stamped Feb. 14. ๐Ÿ™‚

Light switches

Light switches

Anyone know what this hanging thing is? There were three of them on the house.

Anyone know what this hanging thing is? There were three of them on the house.

The lot next to ours is cleared, and they've poured the footers. Dang, it's close...

The lot next to ours is cleared, and they’ve poured the footers. Dang, it’s close…

All those lights in the master bath! And I think we have recessed lights over the vanity. Any other Avalon people out there? Is that right?

All those lights in the master bath! And I think we have recessed lights over the vanity. Any other Avalon people out there? Is that right?

7 comments on “Plans, pipes and power (eventually)

  1. S and P
    May 14, 2013

    Wow! It is exciting to see so much happening ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Eric and Karrie
    May 15, 2013

    Looks great! I concur, it would probably be boring to anyone not going through this process. I’m excited for you. I’m hoping we are right behind you and you can be bored looking at my pics.

  3. Christina
    May 15, 2013

    Plumbing, wood, wiring – all so much more exciting to me than I ever thought possible (mine and those of other builders). Guess it’s all part of the experience ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yes, the wonderful construction mud! Every time I go I seem to come back a mess. I don’t have any idea what the hanging bar is, I believe this is the first time I’ve ever seen it.

    You’re correct, there are recessed lights over the master vanities.

    • newbietobuilding!
      May 15, 2013

      Ah, good to know. I was wondering if that was unique to the two-car garage bathroom layout. And I was a bit taken aback when I realized I wouldn’t be getting one of those traditional light fixtures. But as I think about it, it might be nice to not have to dust more fixtures in the bath. There’s going to be enough to clean as it is! And husband was studying the plans and thinks there will be a dimmer switch in the master bath. If there isn’t one, we’ll put one in. Not sure I want to put on make-up or take a bath under six bright recessed lights!

  4. Christina
    May 15, 2013

    It’s so interesting to see your Avalon plans and how much they differ by region. There’s options on yours that weren’t available to me (and probably ther other way around too)…

    • newbietobuilding!
      May 15, 2013

      You’re right. I love all the windows you had to have on the side. Love all that light!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2013 by in May 2013 and tagged , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

