Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Stairs! We have stairs!

I’ve been too busy to blog, which is shocking, since nearly all I think about is our new house. But with work (to pay for the new house), sports (for the children who will live in the new house), and a weekend away with my mom (who will visit us in the new house), it’s been several days since I have uploaded any pictures. We had our wiring meeting last Wednesday, before we had stairs. It was a little difficult to pick where the jacks would go when WE’VE NEVER BEEN UPSTAIRS IN THIS EXACT MODEL! That’s right, we’re building blind. So we guessed the best we could, and Chris the Wiring Guy nicely said we could change our mind once we saw it.

So imagine how thrilled we were to find stairs this weekend. So happy to see the upstairs, and realize it’s nicer than we planned. The only discordant note was youngest boy will have the bigger bedroom. Oldest boy was not thrilled to work that out. But youngest boy sleepwalks and we wanted to have him farther away from the stairs and closer to us so we can hear him if he decides to go outside and play ball at midnight. (He’s done that before.) Plus, oldest boy, who gets up at 5:30 a.m. for school, will be right by the bathroom and can make all the noise he wants in the morning and can turn on all the lights without waking anyone. We appeased him by saying he could pick the paint color and couch for the bonus room (within reason–I am not getting one of those sectional couches with a cooler in it). I don’t think boys view their room the same as girls do; there’s no giggling and sleepovers and long conversations with the door closed from nosy parents. Boys sleep in their rooms, do homework, surf their phones or computers. If they want to play with friends, it’s outside or in the bonus room. (We don’t allow televisions in their rooms, so games or movies are in the bonus room. I know, mean parents…)

Anyway, here are pictures of our progress in the last week!

The stuff that was delivered last week--bathtubs and plumbing stuff.

The stuff that was delivered last week–bathtubs and plumbing stuff.

Neat shot of nails. Youngest boy was impressed.

Neat shot of nails. Youngest boy was impressed.

Tray ceiling in dining room. Love it!

Tray ceiling in dining room. Love it!

Blurry shot of youngest boy playing baseball with styrofoam scraps and a piece of steel rod. I live with a lot of testosterone and noise.

Blurry shot of youngest boy playing baseball with styrofoam scraps and a piece of steel rod. I live with a lot of testosterone and noise.

Plumbing! That, or a freakishly big mole.

Plumbing! That, or a freakishly big mole.

They've framed for my morning room bar!

They’ve framed for my morning room bar!

STAIRS! OH MY GOD, WE HAVE STAIRS!

STAIRS! OH MY GOD, WE HAVE STAIRS!

View from the top of the stairs. So happy.

View from the top of the stairs. So happy.

The corner of the master bedroom. And we're getting a tray ceiling in there! Forgot all about that.

The corner of the master bedroom. And we’re getting a tray ceiling in there! Forgot all about that.

2-car master bath! The 3-car was way too big for us.

2-car master bath! The 3-car was way too big for us.

View to youngest boy's room (on left) and oldest boy's room (on right, in distance).

View to youngest boy’s room (on left) and oldest boy’s room (on right, in distance).

Upstairs bonus room. The boys are so excited. But we are going to need that soundproofing insulation.

Upstairs bonus room. The boys are so excited. But we are going to need that soundproofing insulation.

Back bedroom, or my future study. :)

Back bedroom, or my future study. 🙂

I was worried the stairs would be really close to the stairs. We don't have the 2-ft. bump out like other Avalon elevations. The stairs are closer than I would like, but not as close as I had feared.

I was worried the stairs would be really close to the front door. We don’t have the 2-ft. bump out like other Avalon elevations. The stairs are closer than I would like, but not as close as I had feared.

IMG_0599 IMG_0598

5 comments on “Stairs! We have stairs!

  1. Stacey
    May 6, 2013

    Everything looks really good! Love the porch.

  2. kimberly
    May 7, 2013

    Lovely!

  3. Christina
    May 8, 2013

    Very nice! Loving that bonus room (it looks HUGE)! There’s still plenty of room in the foyer and the tray ceiling in the dining room is going to be lovely 🙂

    I know what you mean about being busy. Things went really bad at work recently so I’m dealing with that, then with kids’ daily lives and getting the current house ready for rental market I’ve just not had time to catch up on anything.

    Isn’t it nice to see progress every time you go to the house now?

    • newbietobuilding!
      May 8, 2013

      It is lovely to see something new and exciting. I can only imagine what your house must look like. You’ve had your pre-drywall meeting? Soon it will be floors and trim!

      Sorry things have been bad at work. Hopefully that’s just a temporary thing…?

  4. S and P
    May 8, 2013

    Everything looks so cool…!! Love that there is so much natural light!
    Can’t wait to see more!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2013 by in May 2013.
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

