Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our “old” house knows something’s up

Apparently, our current house has gotten wind of what all the frantic packing and cleaning and yard sale-ing means, and it’s not happy. Just as we are getting ready to put it on the market, it’s rebelling in the only way it can: by falling apart. The refrigerator crapped out two weeks ago, and since we don’t have the measurement for the new kitchen, we couldn’t get a nice, fun fridge that we could take with us. We had to get a functional (read, cheap) fridge that we’ll take with us for the garage in the new house.

The kitchen sink followed suit yesterday by merrily spewing forth water from every place it could. The plumber is here, replacing valves and faucets and tubing, for a fee that could have been better spent on a new couch for our new living room.

The window in the kids’ playroom upstairs suddenly decided to lose its faux-panes, and the dining room picture window cracked its seal and is now all foggy. Window guy coming tomorrow.

I knew we were going to have to spend money to get our house all ready to sell, but I was hoping to put it all in paint and carpet. Argh.

On the bright side, we’d put in a NSR for a downstairs shower instead of a tub AGES ago, when we wrote our purchase agreement. We hadn’t heard, and hadn’t heard, despite several emails to our new SR. Finally, yesterday, we got our answer, and yes, we can swap out the bathtub for a walk-in, tiled shower. With our parents getting older, and the fact that I had pretty significant surgery two years ago, and had a long recovery time, we really wanted a shower on the first floor in case we had people staying with us who couldn’t maneuver a bathtub easily. I am a little worried it’s going to be a lot of white tile in a small room, but the cabinets are espresso, and the countertop is meteorite granite, so with a little paint or wallpaper, we can soften all that harsh white tile. Yay, small victories!

4 comments on “Our “old” house knows something’s up

  1. J and M
    May 1, 2013

    It’s like your current home knows its being neglected and is acting out!

    Congrats on getting your shower request approved!

    • newbietobuilding!
      May 1, 2013

      Thanks! We’re going to say kind, soothing things to our current house, and hope that it doesn’t catch on… And we’re really happy about the shower! Looks like the bathtubs were delivered today, so we caught it just in time.

  2. Christina
    May 2, 2013

    Oh, that’s not cool. But I know what you are experiencing – we are having to put more money than we thought into our current house just to get it into prime rental condition.

    Yea for Ryan saying “yes” instead of “no” for a change! I can’t wait until I see how that turns out. I should have gotten the first floor shower after going through my daughter’s few knee surgeries (her daddy had to keep carrying her up and down the stairs). I think the espresso cabinets and granite will balance the white tile very nicely.

    • newbietobuilding!
      May 3, 2013

      I’m pleased about it, but since we have three bathtubs in our garage right now, I’m wondering how long it will take for the change to trickle down to the contractors. I have a feeling I will see a bathtub in that bathroom first, before being ripped out and replaced. Did you get a guest room downstairs, or did you keep it a study?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2013 by in May 2013 and tagged , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

