Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Windows and walls!!

They’ve really made some awesome progress in the last few days, which great, because we’re expected to get several days of rain starting tonight, so I can’t imagine we’ll have the same speed of building for a while. The whole house appears to be framed in to my unexperienced eye, and we had some really pleasant surprises. Our PM had asked us in the pre-construction meeting to not immediately jump on things we find that are wrong, because he tries to get to every house he supervises every day and we should try to give him the chance to find it and fix it himself before we get worried. When we went through the house Friday night, there were two things we found that alarmed us. There was a huge gouge in the subfloor, very nearly a hole all the way through, from something heavy being dropped on it. And there was a really big gap in the corner of the house near the bay window. When I went back through the house today, the flooring had been replaced, and the gap had been covered up nice and snug. So even if our PM didn’t see it himself, yay for the contractors!

We don’t yet have stairs, so I can’t see the second floor which is KILLING me, but we have our wiring meeting on Thursday, so unless they want to haul me upstairs with a pulley, the temporary stairs are a-comin’. I can’t wait. IMG_0522

I didn't think we'd get temp stairs in the garage! So grateful that we can easily get into the house.

I didn’t think we’d get temp stairs in the garage! So grateful that we can easily get into the house.

The morning room

The morning room

Family room (no fireplace)

Family room (no fireplace)

Living room and bay window. We are trying to enjoy the view before they clear our neighbor's lot and start building. They're building a Bridgeport, the largest floorplan available in our neighborhood.

Living room and bay window. We are trying to enjoy the view before they clear our neighbor’s lot and start building. They’re building a Bridgeport, the largest floorplan available in our neighborhood.

View from the front door to the bonus room upstairs. Can't wait to actually get up there!

View from the front door to the bonus room upstairs. Can’t wait to actually get up there!

Uh-oh. They've cut the framing for the niche. Will have to talk to PM about that.

Uh-oh. They’ve cut the framing for the niche. Will have to talk to PM about that.

View from the kitchen to the family room.

View from the kitchen to the family room.

The family room, kitchen and morning room

The family room, kitchen and morning room

5 comments on “Windows and walls!!

  1. J and M
    April 28, 2013

    There are so many windows to let in the natural light!

  2. Melissa R
    April 28, 2013

    It’s coming along. Can’t wait to see it once they get the siding on it.

  3. Christina
    April 29, 2013

    Wow – it’s a house now. I love the side entry garages and the bay window on the side of the LR really makes that room feel wider. They cleaned your house up really nicely and yea to them for quickly fixing the issues.

    Oh, I went into the house yesterday to measure for insulation and I finally found evidence of the Coronas! There were three bottle caps lying in the garage and study. If you’re going for Roxul, order ASAP – I went Saturday and am too late (most places say about a week and a half to two weeks). So we just have to go with regular insulation to try and dampen some of the sound. Don’t know how well it works, but I figured some insulation is better than none at all.

  4. Kim
    April 29, 2013

    Looks great!!!

  5. dakmlbevel
    May 24, 2013

    Looks amazing and I am still what do I do with that niche!!!! HAHAHA…did we drive by and see you????

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2013 by in 2013, April 2013 and tagged , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

