Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

What a difference a day makes…part two!

Yesterday, we had the beginnings of the subfloor, and I was so cautiously hoping framing would start today. It did! We’ve got the back and two sides of the house. So excited!

Yesterday, the beginning of the flooring.

Yesterday, the beginning of the flooring.

Apparently, our house is being built by 12-year-old girls who like to listen to their tunes.

Apparently, our house is being built by 12-year-old girls who like to listen to their tunes.

Bay window, yesterday

Bay window, yesterday

Bay window, today!

Bay window, today!

View from the back

View from the back

Morning room

Morning room

My kitchen window. Sigh. One of the reasons I fell in love with the Avalon.

My kitchen window. Sigh. One of the reasons I fell in love with the Avalon.

Our house!

Our house!

5 comments on “What a difference a day makes…part two!

  1. Christina
    April 18, 2013

    Yea! I love the kitchen windows too, and you’ve got a beautiful view out of them. Great pick getting the side bay in the living room. I’ve seen pics online and it really makes that room a little more spacious (from the pics anyway).

    So you were asking about my window issues. Brief description: our county guidelines made Ryan give us two side windows in the study and one in the living room (free). I also paid for a second one in the living room, because one looked kind of dumb and the model near me had two which was so much prettier. When the frames went up, I saw the windows are framed with the top edge less than a foot from the ceiling – who wants windows that high? I found from another Avalon blog last year that this is standard framing and she got hers moved too. So I had to get PM to make the tops even with the back study windows, which are at the right height. They also didn’t frame for two windows in each room so I had to make sure they were going to be put where I wanted them. My elevation has a lot of the “pushed together” windows and I prefer the look of some space in between so I’m having these windows spaced. Then today I noticed they didn’t move one of the bedroom 3 side windows (that I had to put in a non-standard request and pay $500 to have moved about 3 feet), so that’s another email to PM.

    I also drove my neighborhood and think I finally saw an Avalon with a front porch! It’s BEAUTIFUL. You made a great choice.

    Sorry for the long comment 🙂

    • newbietobuilding!
      April 19, 2013

      Thanks! Just looked at your pictures again with a fresh eye, now that I have some perspective on what framed walls look like up close. I’ll bet by the end of the day today, you will have some more unbelievable progress on your Avalon!

      I’m glad we got the bay window, too. We were on the fence about it, since it was an expensive upgrade, but we so loved it in the home we walked through. My father was with us when we were walking through the model, and heard us discussing it, and he decided to give us some money as a house-warming present for the bay window. So now we call it the (insert name here) Honorary Window. 🙂 He jokes that he wants his own rocking chair so he can come and spend all afternoon sitting in “his” window.

  2. Jennifer
    April 18, 2013

    Wow! Quick! The morning room is going to look amazing!

    Jen
    http://buildingourabode.blogspot.com/

  3. Melissa R
    April 19, 2013

    I can’t believe how fast your pile of dirt turned into this gorgeous start to your new home. I am jealous of your bay window, our community didn’t offer them and I never thought to ask for one.

    • newbietobuilding!
      April 19, 2013

      Thanks, Melissa! We are looking forward to it, particularly since the elevation we chose gives us a slightly smaller foyer, and one of my pet peeves is coming right in and walking right into the stairs. I’m having nightmares that it will be like that in the new house, since I’ve never actually been in our floorplan.

      Yours should be getting rolling soon, now that you have paved roads and a preconstruction meeting set!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2013 by in 2013, April 2013 and tagged , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

