Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

What a difference a day makes!

One of the many, many things I hadn’t anticipated when starting this blog was just how often I would want to post pictures of piles of dirt and bricks. I’ve been quite reticent about posting a lot on Facebook, primarily because I didn’t want to seem like I was gloating. We are fortunate to be able to afford to move and are aware that not everyone is. But here, in Ryan Homes Blog Land, I can gleefully share picture after picture of construction trash and concrete walls and know someone will be interested enough to read it. Thank you, all!

So, having exhibited a great deal of restraint for not posting yesterday, here is what happened between last night and tonight. Amazing!

View of our garage and kitchen yesterday.

View of our garage and kitchen yesterday.

Garage, yesterday

Garage, yesterday

Bay window and living room, yesterday

Bay window and living room, yesterday

Front of the house today! Holy catfish, that brick went up quick!

Front of the house today! Holy catfish, that brick went up quick!

Garage today. Trying to tell myself that size doesn't matter, this is really a two-car garage...

Garage today. Trying to tell myself that size doesn’t matter, this is really a two-car garage…

Back of the house today. A bit higher than we thought. Looks like a lot of steps down from the deck.

Back of the house today. A bit higher than we thought. Looks like a lot of steps down from the deck.

I am starting a Construction Trash of the Day feature. Today: a Mickey's. Oddly, I trust a brick layer who drinks a Mickey's. Must be the New Englander in me.

I am starting a Construction Trash of the Day feature. Today: a Mickey’s. Oddly, I trust a brick layer who drinks a Mickey’s. Must be the New Englander in me.

5 comments on “What a difference a day makes!

  1. Christina
    April 9, 2013

    That brick to grade is nice; they are making quick work of your foundation.

    I was wondering about my garage while taking pictures today too. SR SWORE that our two vehicles would fit, um I’m still highly skeptical. These “two car” garages they build now days are really tiny, which is kind of a shame – I would have actually liked to fit two cars in there. But maybe they will surprise us.

    Yes, I have a construction trash issue too 🙂

    • newbietobuilding!
      April 9, 2013

      I am concentrating on the outside trash at this point, because when they go inside, I don’t want to know anything about the “trash.” One of the lovely things I always pictured about a new house is being the very first person to use the tub or the commode. Pretty sure I won’t want to know anything about who or what has been in my tub or toilet– and what they’ve been doing! Let me know if you find any interesting trash. It was a tie today between the Mickey’s and a half of a lime.

      So you’re getting the two-car garage, too? I would have considered a three-car, but didn’t want to spend the ridiculous amount of money for it. Plus, husband didn’t want it. He felt it stuck out too far on the front of the house (have a side load garage) and it made the master bathroom even more ridiculously large. I hope it will fit two cars. It probably does…if you don’t mind sleeping in them and not opening the doors to get out.

      • Christina
        April 9, 2013

        You found a half lime too? So did I. Was looking around for a Corona bottle :).

        So far I’ve just found tons of empty drinks (no beer yet) and some food containers (oh, and a dirty sock). I”ll be sure to post the funny items.

        Yeah, I so do not even want to think about anyone messing up my new house.

        Yes, we got a “two” car. Wanted the three car just so we could finally have a garage we could get both our cars in. However, there were no lots available that would accommodate that option (our neighborhood has TINY lots). In a way is kind of a blessing because as you know the three car option was excessively expensive and I already had to go with a more expensive elevation (that I like less) due to the close proximity of another Avalon with the elevation I wanted. I didn’t need the bathroom to be bigger either (not loving the way they designed that bathroom anyway).

  2. newbietobuilding!
    April 10, 2013

    I was looking for a Corona, too!

    I agree about the master bathroom. I love that the two sinks are separated, and where the shower and commode are. I am not thrilled, however, that there is a step down into the bathroom itself. (???! Picturing falling on my face in the middle of the night…) And I really don’t like the columns by the tub or the fact that there is no way to open the window over the tub, or even draw up blinds or a curtain without climbing into the tub. I will have a pretty sunset view from my bathroom, and hate the idea of always having the blinds drawn. We’ve asked our PM to leave the columns out and hopefully the corresponding bulkhead, and he said he’d see what he can do. Also, consider yourself lucky! With your floorplan, you get a linen closet in the hallway. The only one we have is in the other upstairs bath. I’m already worried about where to put my sheets and towels.

  3. Christina
    April 10, 2013

    Oh, a sunset view outside your bath window will be pretty. I’m sure you’ll find some window treatment that allows you to take advantage of it. Right, climbing into the tub will be a little bit of a pain.

    Depending on your elevation your master bath window may open. I was questioning mine and learned that Elevations A and B have functioning windows and Elevation C does not (wasn’t told about any other elevation as I was told Avalon is only A,B,C-which I know isn’t true). That Elev C was given a non-funcational window makes no sense because the windows are pretty much the same size and shape and it really does not change the look on the outside. So why no functional window; I want to circulate air especially while cleaning. Oh well. 🙂

    My issue with the bathroom is the little shower then the huge tub/deck. I see why they had to that but (and this may be personal preference) I rarely use my tub and would have loved the option to have a fancy shower instead.

    Two closets and sinks a big plus! I do like the hall linen closet but am trying to figure out where I’ll store towels for the master.

    I didn’t even think about removing the columns and bulkhead, but I may ask – not really a fan of the columns either.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2013 by in 2013, April 2013 and tagged , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

