Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

It’s taking shape!

Stopped by today, and there was a little burst of activity on our lot. I feel oddly flattered that people would be working on our house on a Saturday. (Of course, we’re paying them a bucketload of money, so I guess I shouldn’t be totally surprised.) Here are some pictures of what we found!

Starting to make out where the kitchen and morning room will be!

Starting to make out where the kitchen and morning room will be!

Our bay window!

Our bay window!

We'd been warned about trash at the site, but we are puzzled at the toothpaste box. What dentally-conscientious builders!

We’d been warned about trash at the site, but we are puzzled at the toothpaste box. What dentally-conscientious builders!

Youngest child thought making a handprint in mud would be the same as in concrete. It isn't.

Youngest child thought making a handprint in mud would be the same as in concrete. It isn’t.

This is what our house will look like, save for the garage. We only got the two-car. But this is the same elevation and a similar color palate.

This is what our house will look like, save for the garage. We only got the two-car. But this is the same elevation and a similar color palate.

6 comments on “It’s taking shape!

  1. Eric and Karrie
    April 7, 2013

    I like the porch. I don’t think I’ve seen the Avalon with this Elevation before. Looks very inviting, will be a great outdoor living space, especially for entertaining during the warmer months.

    Just noticed your estimated completion date of July 24th. Is that still a good date for you guys? We starting digging on April 17th, and our estimated completion date is July 23rd and our house is a 98 day build.

  2. newbietobuilding!
    April 7, 2013

    I think July 24 is a little optimistic– we are hoping for the first week in August. I think our house is more along the 115 day build schedule. It’s hard to combine blog names with reader names. Do I know what you’re building?

    We like this elevation, too, but went back and forth between a couple. I really wanted an elevation that had a covering over the front door, so there were only two to choose from. This elevation is gorgeous in all brick, with dormers along the top, but that would have added $16,000 to the price, and we opted to spend our money indoors! I am looking forward to a front porch for sure. We’ve never had one!

    • Eric and Karrie
      April 7, 2013

      We are building a Highgrove. Our PM said the build time used to be 125+ days but with the Pre-built walls, they’ve cut it down to 98. One of the factories where they build the walls is in our town. I don’t know which one should be harder or take longer to build but it seems like you have a realistic date and we do not.

      I hear you on the outrageously priced elevations. We had looked at a cottage elevation with a 8/12 pitch hipped roof and full metal roofed porch with a partial stone front. They wanted over $20k. No thanks!

      Our community requires the entire first floor be bricked and the entire front both floors. You can combine brick and stone. So it’s built in the list price. As a bonus we found out the family room on the back of the house will be full brick. There was no natural brake due to the windows.

      • newbietobuilding!
        April 7, 2013

        98 days for a Highgrove does seem a bit unrealistic, given the size and complexity of the floor plan. But I can’t figure out Ryan’s rhythms on anything, so I suppose it’s possible. It seemed like there was a frenzy of activity in our neighborhood, with foundations springing up out the ground like mushrooms after rain, and now they’re sitting quietly, waiting for something to happen. We have reasoned that perhaps they were waiting for ours and one other to get to the same stage, and then try to frame them all at once?

        I think your house should be just lovely, particularly with the brick and/or stone on the front. I love the way it looks- there are so many combinations between the stones and bricks and siding and trim, I don’t know how one could possibly choose. And having brick on the back is a really nice feature as well.

  3. Eric and Karrie
    April 7, 2013

    We ended up going with all brick. To do brick and stone on the front they wanted $4,700. Coincidentally to go from the Cherry Bordeaux to the Butterscotch Glaze was about $4,000. So Butterscotch it was and No Stone. 😦 if only we had an unlimited budget.

    I think they are doing the same thing to us. We are at the front of the line and they are waiting for a few others before starting on ours.

  4. Christina
    April 8, 2013

    I like that Avalon elevation – front porches are so nice! It’s also great you get the brick to grade.

    LoL at the toothpaste 🙂 I’ve noticed a lot of trash on my site, including a dirty sock – yuck!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 6, 2013 by in 2013, April 2013 and tagged , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

