Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our lot got a Brazilian!

It’s bikini-ready for summer!

After days and days of stalking the lot, we came by tonight to see it was razed and ready to go. They’d cleared the front part all the way back to the 100-year flood plain at the rear of our lot, leaving a nice buffer of trees. We were able to also see just what the lot and backyard is going to look like. When we were walking the lot during our pre-construction meeting, our PM Gunnar was talking about the grading of the lot and how we would only have a few steps up at the front of the house, but we might have as many as eight steps off our back deck. I was having visions of the house being built on the side of a mini-cliff, with the yard sloping off sharply in the back. Since all my youngest wanted was a “private, flat backyard,” I was trying to figure out how to break the news to him that he might not be able to play lacrosse in the yard, but he could sled like a demon all winter. Happily, the lot is nicely set, with a gentle slope!

I also now know why people take and post literally dozens and dozens of pictures of dirt and rocks during this process. I took nearly 40 pictures of our future homestead (read, dirt slick) tonight, but won’t post them all here. I feel like a first-time mamma, taking picture after pictures of my sleeping newborn that will only be interesting to us and the grandparents. (These pictures will only interest even fewer people, just fellow bloggers!)

So excited to switch to the next level of stalking: watching for a big hole to appear!

Our newly-cleared lot!

Our newly-cleared lot!

Had a hard day clearing those trees...

Had a hard day clearing those trees…

Looking from the back--it was a nice surprise to see our new backyard.

Looking from the back–it was a nice surprise to see our new backyard.

I am, like, ten feet tall.

I am, like, ten feet tall.

My driveway! Side entry. Love.

My driveway! Side entry. Love.

IMG_0136

Red Virginia clay. I don't pity whoever washes those construction workers' clothes at the end of the day.

Red Virginia clay. I pity whoever washes those construction workers’ clothes at the end of the day.

2 comments on “Our lot got a Brazilian!

  1. Melissa R
    March 27, 2013

    Yay! So exciting. I’m so jealous. Our streets should be done this week and I am amused at how anxious I am looking forward to my pile of dirt. Post as many pictures as you want, I’m excited for you and enjoy photo stalking your blog, lol.

    • newbietobuilding!
      March 28, 2013

      Thanks, Melissa! I’m sure yours will be razed and ready before you know it! This “spring” has been tricky, what with the rain and snow. I suspect once it gets going, we’ll be stunned by how fast it all is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2013 by in March 2013 and tagged , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

