Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Pre-construction meeting done!

Well, the pre-construction meeting was this morning, and it’s made the whole process very real all of a sudden. Our PM was awesome, as we had been told. I went in there with THREE hand-written pages of questions, and when we got to the end and he asked if I had any unanswered questions, I looked and there were only two he hadn’t covered already (where are the hose bibs going to be, and are there recessed lights in the kitchen). Nice! Since we are newbies, it’s nice to have someone who really know what he’s doing.

I had three things that I really wanted to change, but didn’t know if I would be allowed. We’d requested ceiling fan rough-ins for all the bedrooms, but hadn’t realized that there wasn’t going to be any overhead lighting in the morning room. I wanted to know if we could take one rough-in out of bedroom #4 and move it downstairs to the morning room so we could hang a light fixture. Yup, no problem. I was completely puzzled by the niche in the downstairs front hall. Really, what would I put in there? I don’t decorate seasonally and I won’t have the patience to have a tall vase with fresh flowers and change them regularly, so I asked if they could omit that. Yup, no problem, they’ll just drywall over it. And the last, big one: I HATE decorative columns. I just don’t get them. I saw a picture on another blog of the Avalon bathroom before construction was complete, and the columns were not yet up and it looked (to me) so much better. So I asked if we can leave the columns out and the corresponding bulkhead over them. Um…. maybe. PM said he’d see what he could do. So, here’s hoping for no columns!!

When we were finished with all the inside stuff, including going over all the options, colors and blueprints, we went over to our lot. It hadn’t yet been staked, which irritated the PM, since he’d asked for it, but he paced out the home site and we saw where they would clear. As far as we are concerned, the fewer trees, the better. There is a 100-year backwater/ wetland area behind our lot, so there will be about a 20′ buffer of trees left anyway at the back of our property. So we told PM to just raze it. They are supposed to clear it all tomorrow, and dig a big hole next Wednesday, March 27! And we have a tentative completion date of July 24, just what we’d hoped for. So excited!!

Our lot, still wooded

Our lot, still wooded

Stake for the 100-year backwater buffer area

Stake for the 100-year backwater buffer area

View from the cul-de-sac

View from the cul-de-sac

One comment on “Pre-construction meeting done!

  1. Melissa R
    March 21, 2013

    How exciting. We are still about a month off of them building. We have a couple houses ahead of ours. Our SR hasn’t been the most helpful with special requests so I am hoping our PM is. Can’t wait to see the progress of your new home.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2013 by in March 2013 and tagged , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

