Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

….crickets….Hello? What’s going on?…..

Well, I thought when I began this blog that I would have more to write about, but honestly–it’s just really quiet right now. Other blogs had warned that there would be a frenzy of activity in the beginning, what with picking out all the fancy floors and tiles and ceiling fan rough-ins, and then it would just get really still for a bit. I think this is referred to as the calm before the storm.

We got what I can only assume is the your-house-is-finally-a-go-so-get-ready-to-kiss-this-quiet-sayonara letter the other day from NVR. I had assumed that once we picked everything out, we’d get a call from our sales rep to schedule the pre-construction meeting. But, as it turns out, we had to sign forms authorizing all our upgrades and changes from our flooring and wiring meetings. Hmmm. Would have been nice to know. I only found out when I went over to make part of our deposit and cheerfully asked when the meeting might be. The SR blinked at me for a minute (admittedly, he is new, as our old, awesome SR got promoted and moved to the beach–miss you, Aaron!), and then told me we needed to sign more papers first. So, several days later, that was done, and then we got our letter.

Here’s the thing: when we got our paperwork from NVR, they anticipated a closing date of July 8. Let me repeat that for you, since there isn’t a panic font on my Mac. JULY 8. OF THIS YEAR. Our current house is a train wreck, and nowhere near ready to get on the market. I have been assured by people in the know that it always takes longer to build than they say it will, due to weather (the only time I might be grateful for Southern summer deluges) or the cabinets are wrong or the tub arrives cracked in two. We really had planned to close in August. So, any blogger who may have wandered onto this blog, what’s your advice? If we start everything now, is August a realistic date, or are they super-builders who will finish on time?

11 comments on “….crickets….Hello? What’s going on?…..

  1. Rachel
    March 14, 2013

    We were given a date before we started, and we had our walkthrough on that date. Our LO had said that our PM was always right on with his dates, and he was. We broke ground on March 1 and had our walkthrough on May 23. We built a Verona and with our additional finishing in the basement, we have about 4200 sq. ft. of finished space. They do move quickly, and due to them having all walls, trusses, etc. prefabricated, the framing moves incredibly fast. They have built these homes many times and have it down to a science. If they are telling you July 8, they are probably pretty confident that they can have it done by then.

  2. Melissa R
    March 15, 2013

    Our close date has moved at least four times and it looks like it is about to change again. Unfortunately you need to be prepared for the July close but no building ever goes off without a hitch. Where are you building? We are in N Virginia. We have been waiting for the streets to go in and then we are house three on our street to be built. Good luck.

    • newbietobuilding!
      March 15, 2013

      We are in the Richmond area, but I grew up in Northern VA. The SR told us they could draw out breaking ground just a bit to make it a little closer to the end of July, and I am hopeful that they can. It’s that fine line– we want to be in before the new school year, but I need just a little more time to get our current house sold. On the other hand, all this daydreaming and planning has made me anxious to get into our new house, so I am torn!

  3. ~C
    March 15, 2013

    Yes, definitely the calm before the storm. We’re in a holding pattern just waiting for Ryan to give us a start date for Avalon, and I haven’t really had anything exciting happen since our Feb 4th pre-construction meeting.

    When are they estimating you will start? Don’t worry – you have time to get your current home together, even if it feels like July is right around the corner. As far as build times, our PM said the Avalon has a 90-day build schedule.

  4. newbietobuilding!
    March 15, 2013

    We don’t have a sense of when they will start. We bought our lot a few days before the one two lots over, and they’ve just cleared and staked that one and laid big rocks for what I assume will be the driveway. But then, two more lots that were sold right before ours are still covered with trees and untouched. I guess it all depends on how quickly all the financing can be straightened out. We are all set with that, and have signed everything we needed to, so I expect to be called sometime this week to set up the pre-construction meeting. The SR (we haven’t met our PM yet, but his name is Gunnar–I am imagining that someone named Gunnar doesn’t play) said we can expect a 90-110 day build.

    Houses are sprouting up all over the section like Chia Pets! One day it’s dirt, and the next, it’s a two-story framed house with a roof! So I think that estimate is spot-on.

    Where are you building?

    • Melissa R
      March 15, 2013

      We are building in Stafford and haven’t even met our pm yet. I love your PM’s name, newbie. It’s funny when you are in a hurry, every delay under the sun arises but when you want a delay they never happen. Hopefully you will get your delay. You could always ask if you can moved down the list to build, there are probably others who would like their homes sooner.

    • Christina
      March 15, 2013

      I know about the houses going up fast; I drive through our future neighborhood frequently and it is really amazing sometimes.

      We are buiding in Waldorf, MD.

    • T
      March 15, 2013

      You will love Gunnar! He was our PM and was WONDERFUL!!!!

      • newbietobuilding!
        March 17, 2013

        Glad to hear it! We’ve been pleased with everyone thus far, and I am looking forward to meeting Gunnar.

  5. Debbie
    March 17, 2013

    Jordan was our rep and he’s super nice. Gunnar is wonderful too. We were contingent which I don’t think they are doing now. Heartquakes lots are bank owned and Ryan has the contract to sell them. Walkers Chase is the developer. Thinking back we closed end of May had the final deposit to RH and it took one month till they cleared the lot July 4th weekend…which was about 2 weeks from the pre-construction meeting. .All homes are put in a Que so to speak and X amount will be ahead of you.
    Every now and then I think of something, and think I should share that with you…then I forget! One is where they put your electric switches “beyond arms length”
    We signed with a Realtor before signing contract staying firm on contingent. Took Realtor 10 plus days to get media out and we sold over Easter weekend. I wish we had talked could have shared some things with you. Can’t wait to see your home go up.

    • newbietobuilding!
      March 17, 2013

      We just got the call from Jordan this afternoon to schedule our pre-construction meeting, which we’ve set for Wednesday morning. I am looking forward to meeting Gunnar. It sounds as though he might be the PM for most of the development? That’s a lot to keep track of!

      We’re admittedly gambling letting the house go forward without selling our current house. The only thing I have to cling to is that houses seem to be moving a bit faster than they were even a year or two ago. My sister’s house sold in 11 days, and a friend at work listed her house last Saturday and it sold the following Monday. A co-worker’s house in Henrico County sold in three days as well. My hope is, if we price and stage it right, we can work to plan it so we only have to move once. If we have to carry our existing house for a month or two, we can (as long as we budget for it now!). I think we could have written a contingency contract, but the lot wouldn’t have been really ours until we locked in, and we fell in love with the lot so we decided to proceed this way and hope for the best. We looked at, and were sorely tempted by the big lot just down from yours, Debbie, towards the stop sign. But the kids requested to be within easy walking distance of their friends, so Walkers Chase it was.

      And what do you mean by electric switches beyond arm’s length? I’m a bit frazzled from packing and cleaning all day, so I can’t quite picture what you mean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2013 by in March 2013 and tagged , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

