Avalon Building and Blogging

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Well, it’s beginning to feel like it might just happen!

Ok, I kind of didn’t want to let myself relax until we got the final notice from NVR that we got approved for the mortgage. I was having nightmares of not qualifying, or of only qualifying for, like, $600 or something. But we got the final approval letter from NVR last Monday! Yay! I know a lot of people have expressed concerns about NVR, but so far (and I know it’s early), I don’t have anything negative to say. From our application to approval, it was about 2 1/2 weeks. Some bloggers have posted that it took a lot longer than that, so we feel fortunate. I let it set in for a few days, then took over a big chunk of our deposit to our SR. I guess the next step is the pre-construction meeting!

We met with the wiring people and the flooring people already. The wiring appointment went quite well. We are mean parents, and won’t let the boys have televisions in their rooms, so only got cable outlets in the morning room, the family room, our bedroom, the downstairs guest room (although husband doesn’t want to make the guest room TOO comfortable!), and one of the spare bedrooms upstairs that we will use as a study. I was sorely tempted to get a cable jack in our ginormous bathroom but felt fairly sure I would be alone in my love of watching tv while I get ready in the morning. I felt as though we weren’t pressured to upgrade anything, and the sales rep there listened and suggested things but didn’t hard sell anything. We will have two old-school phone jacks (yes, we like our landlines), one in our bedroom and one in the kitchen. And we are getting a security system hard-wired into the house. We are doing that for two reasons: one, this is quite a large house and I’d like to protect our investment, and two, we have a sleepwalker, whom we have found outside before in the middle of the night. I’d like a little heads up if my kid is going to go out to play some night lacrosse in his jammies.

The flooring selection. Ah….floors….and tiles… How lovely. I can’t remember all the names of our selections right now, but I will try to post along with all our options and upgrades. I have found it to be so helpful when other bloggers do that; it is nice to see color combinations or know that we aren’t alone with thinking something is kind of a neat option. We chose the standard Bruce hardwood cherry floors, which surprised me, since I didn’t think I would like something so dark and rich. Our kitchen cabinets are the standard Fairfield Maple, no upgrades. I know they are veneers, but I like the clean lines and warm color of them. We will have hardwoods throughout the entire downstairs, except for the family room and bathroom. We chose a variegated carpet in browns and tans with some flecks of dark, almost black in it for the family room. Upstairs, we chose a light grey-ish carpet. I had thought to choose something darker, but I just really liked that color.

And the master bath. My lovely master bath. We are getting the espresso cabinets with a grey and white granite top in all the bathrooms, so I swung for the fences and got a lovely grey tile with the most beautiful listello accent tiles I have ever seen. My husband wanted to go with a warmer, tan color, but he was kind enough to let me choose grey when he saw my face. The color pallet for the house will be shades of grey (insert erotica joke here), so it was important to me to have as much match as possible, since I won’t be able to paint for a while.

Ok, enough about carpet and tiles and paint. Here are some pictures of our choices!IMG_0047 IMG_0058 IMG_0059 IMG_0053 IMG_0073 IMG_0061

3 comments on “Well, it’s beginning to feel like it might just happen!

  1. dakmlbevel
    March 5, 2013

    I love all your choices : ) I tried to be consistent with my selections too but cut back in the master bath…wish I hadn’t but wasn’t really shown anything. Congrats can’t wait to see you get started!!!

    • newbietobuilding!
      March 5, 2013

      It’s funny how you suddenly have to prioritize what you HAVE to have as opposed to what you want to have. I didn’t really care too much about the kitchen cabinets, but really wanted that fancy listello tile in the master bath. Honestly, though, the layout of the Avalon is just so great, I think even without any upgrades, it is a wonderful house. I keep daydreaming about it on my way to work… 🙂

  2. ~C
    March 15, 2013

    Oh, what great selections! Everything coordinates wonderfully. Congratulations on your Avalon. It is a great house, but I might be a little biased because we are building one in MD 🙂
    LoL at the cable in the bathroom – the thought briefly crossed my mind too.

    Can’t wait to watch your build!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2013 by in March 2013 and tagged , , , , , , .
Our John Steinbeck build with Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

A Venture to our Venice

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

OurBeautifulPalermo

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Our New Venice Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Our First Home - Lincolnshire, Ryan Homes

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

a Victoria Falls in Palmer Village

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Ravenna

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

ehravenna.blogspot.com

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

To build or not to build - Our Shakespeare home (MD)

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

We sold our Florence...and moved to the country!

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Another Rome

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building our Heavenly Highgrove

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Journey to Ravenna model with Ryan

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Decorist Chick

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Rome Sweet Home

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Fancy' in Up Our Florence

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Building Our Green Community Ryan Homes Misthaven

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

Savoy-r-ing The Moment... The Ryan Homes Experience

Can I really care this much about flooring and faucets? Apparently, I can.

